{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "atlanta-ga",
  "name": "Atlanta",
  "state": "Georgia",
  "st": "GA",
  "lat": 33.749,
  "lng": -84.388,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/atlanta-ga/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/atlanta-ga/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/atlanta-ga/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/atlanta-ga.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-08",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 327,
   "boarding": 302,
   "daycare": 178,
   "catBoarding": 19,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 291,
   "vets": 29,
   "open24": 16,
   "pricedCount": 138,
   "boardingRateCount": 106
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 45,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 106 of 327 indexed Atlanta facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 45,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 106,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 106 of 327 indexed Atlanta facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 40,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 106,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 106 of 327 indexed Atlanta facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 58,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 106,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 106 of 327 indexed Atlanta facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.45,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 106,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 106 Atlanta facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 33,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 82,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 82 of 327 indexed Atlanta facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 37.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 285,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "106 of 285 Atlanta facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 327,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 302,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 178,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 291,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 29,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 16,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 327,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 327 Atlanta facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 51,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "130 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 125 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 3.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 245 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 3.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 247 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "85 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 170 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 35.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "91 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 164 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 35.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "90 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 165 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 11.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 226 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 0.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 254 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 2.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 248 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 9.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 230 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 18.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "48 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 207 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 23.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "59 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 196 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 13.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "35 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 220 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 21.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "54 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 201 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 31.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "80 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 175 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 43.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 254,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "110 of 254 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 144 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 2.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 248 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 35.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "90 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 165 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 14.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "36 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 219 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 14.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 242,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "36 of 242 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 206 sites carried no such statement, and 13 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 18.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "48 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 207 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 2.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 248 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 6.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 253,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 253 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 237 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 29,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "74 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 181 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 28.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "72 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 183 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 255,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 255 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 253 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 11.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 254,
   "of": 327,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "30 of 254 Atlanta facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 224 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 24.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 218,
   "of": 218,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "53 of 218 dedicated facilities in Atlanta, GA whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 17.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 218,
   "of": 218,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "39 of 218 dedicated facilities in Atlanta, GA whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 12.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 218,
   "of": 218,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "27 of 218 dedicated facilities in Atlanta, GA whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:atlanta-ga",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 16.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 218,
   "of": 218,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "36 of 218 dedicated facilities in Atlanta, GA whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "B",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": true,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": true,
  "summary": "Georgia licenses and inspects dog boarding kennels. The Georgia Animal Protection Act (O.C.G.A. § 4-11-1 et seq.) makes it a misdemeanor to operate a kennel without a valid license from the Commissioner of Agriculture, and a 'kennel' is any establishment, other than an animal shelter, where dogs or cats are maintained for boarding, holding, training, or similar purposes for a fee. The Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) Companion Animal Program administers the license. The fee is set by rule on holding capacity — $100 for up to 20 pets, $200 for 21–40, $300 for 41–80, $400 for more than 80 — the license runs one year from issue, expires twelve months after the issue date, and a late renewal carries a penalty of 100 percent of the fee that GDA says it cannot waive by law. GDA's application process includes a pre-inspection visit by an inspector before the license issues, and the Act (§ 4-11-9) and rule 40-13-13-.03 authorise entry 'at any time', unannounced, at whatever frequency the Commissioner deems appropriate. Minimum standards are in Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-13-13. Veterinary hospitals operated by a licensed veterinarian for their customary purposes are not kennels under the Act. GDA publishes a license look-up (Kelly Solutions) for kennels, pet dealers and shelters; no downloadable, machine-readable licensee list was found, so Atlanta is Tier B, not Tier A. Fulton County adds a $150 special permit for premises with four or more dogs, from which commercial kennels holding a business license are exempt on the fee; that is a county instrument and was not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — a state licensing regime is not a quality rating and the Dogs Away index does not measure compliance with it. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-13-13 sets a floor (compatible grouping, isolation of suspected disease, cleaning to a hygienic standard, records, an evacuation plan); it sets no numeric cleaning frequency, no vaccination rule, and nothing on staffing, group size, or overnight supervision. Veterinary hospitals are not kennels under the Act. The Fulton County special permit is a multi-dog premises instrument and commercial kennels are exempt from its fee; it was not joined to any facility record. No page may state or suggest that a facility is licensed, unlicensed, permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant on the basis of anything in this index.",
  "register": "Tier B rather than Tier A: GDA's Pets page says 'Use our License Search tool to see pet dealers, kennel operators (groomers, trainers, boarders), animal rescues, humane societies, and local government animal shelters that hold a valid license with the Georgia Department of Agriculture' and links to https://www.kellysolutions.com/GA/petdealers/ (also reachable via https://agr.georgia.gov/search-licenses). The search page itself returned a Cloudflare challenge to our fetches, so its fields and any export control were not inspected. No CSV, Excel or open-data licensee list was found on any GDA page. Until one is obtained, no Atlanta facility carries a license record in this index, and NO facility may be rendered as unlicensed — the correct statement is 'no record retrieved from the Georgia Department of Agriculture Companion Animal Program, checked 2026-09-08'.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-08"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Georgia inspects an Atlanta boarding kennel before it opens and may walk in unannounced afterwards. Of the 255 facility websites we read, 29 say whether a person is in the building overnight, and seven of those say no.",
  "body": "Atlanta is a Tier B market. Under the Georgia Animal Protection Act a kennel needs a license from the Department of Agriculture's Companion Animal Program, the fee scales with holding capacity, an inspector visits before the license issues, and the Act lets the Commissioner's agents enter \"at any time\", unannounced. The rules in Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 40-13-13 set a thin floor: dogs sharing an enclosure must be \"maintained in compatible groups\", sick dogs separated, enclosures cleaned to \"a healthy and hygienic environment\" with no frequency attached, records kept, an evacuation plan written. They say nothing about vaccination — not even rabies — and nothing about staffing, group size, or whether anyone is present at night. Veterinary hospitals are not kennels under the Act, and 29 of the Atlanta listings are veterinary practices that board. The state register is a look-up behind a Cloudflare challenge, not a dataset, so no facility in this index carries a license record.\n\nThe market is the counties of the Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 327 listings, 86 of them more than 30 miles out. Forty-two list no website. We reached and reviewed 255 of the rest. Twenty-nine of the 255 address overnight staffing, 11.4 percent, against Charlotte's 12.9, Dallas's 13.7 and Chicago's 20.9. Twenty-two say a person is there. Bark, Play & Stay answers in the owner's own words: \"Is someone at Bark, Play & Stay overnight with the dogs? Yes. Someone is at the facility throughout the night with the boarding dogs.\" Happy Paws Pet Camp says \"your dog is never left alone overnight.\" Eight of the 22 yeses are someone who lives on the property — Water Dog Kennels puts it as \"Sleep under the same roof as us (24/7 care!)\" — and six of those eight are more than 30 miles from downtown. Pet Lodge Pet Resort is the most exact: \"Our staff is here from 7am to 7pm and we have a supervisor that lives on site.\" Camp Bow Wow Woodstock's \"our team checks on Campers throughout the night\" is the softest yes in the market.\n\nSeven listings, four operators, say no. Four Hounds Town locations share one FAQ: \"While we don’t have staff staying overnight, we have an established routine for weekends and holidays to ensure the dogs are properly taken care of.\" Central Bark Atlanta is the plainest: \"Does someone stay overnight at dog boarding? No.\" Best Friends Pet Hotel answers from a chain page: \"We do not have staff members on site overnight, except at our Walt Disney World location.\" Doguroo never poses the question; it tells owners to pack carefully because \"your pup will be left with these items unattended overnight.\" The other 226 are silent.\n\nBelow that, Atlanta publishes a little more than its peers, and still very little. Piedmont Bark is the only one of 255 to publish a staff-to-dog ratio, \"approximately 10 dogs per staff member\", against none of 328 in Dallas and four of 320 in Chicago. Paws Pad says it will \"maintain a low staff-to-dog ratio\" and the two Best In Show sites advertise a small staff-to-pet ratio; none gives the number. Seven publish a playgroup cap, from The Dog Spot Training & Enrichment Center's \"No More Than 3 Dogs At A Time\" to Club DiOGi's \"maximum of 25 dogs\" and Bark ATL's holiday \"30-35 dogs per playroom\". Seven publish a capacity, from Sheila And Tim’s Pet Care (\"WE WILL ONLY BOARD 5/6 AT ONE TIME.\") to Piedmont Bark's \"maximum capacity of 130 dogs\". Seven listings from six operators say what happens after an injury, usually a call to the owner and then a vet. Twenty listings publish any of those four facts. The other 235 publish none.\n\nForty-eight describe a play model, and the market leans hard toward all-day play: 31 run open play all day, 13 build in a scheduled rest, and four run a structured rotation, Paws Club Daycare + Boarding among them with play \"in two-hour shifts, with comfy rest in between.\" Thirty-five say how much time a boarded dog spends out of its room, from PetSmart's twice-daily exercise walks to Wagging Tails' \"9 to 11 hours of play daily\". Fifty-four say what happens to a dog that cannot do group play.\n\nVaccination is where Atlanta is most forthcoming, and the state requires none of it. One hundred and thirty of the 255 publish a list, 51 percent, against Dallas's 47, Chicago's 43.4 and Charlotte's 42.4. Every one of the 130 requires rabies and 127 require Bordetella. Canine influenza is where they split: 25 require it, 30 recommend it, four say outright they do not require it — \"Currently, Pet Paradise is not requiring dogs to be vaccinated with the canine influenza vaccine\" — and 71 do not mention it. Leptospirosis is required by 22 and recommended by 10. Eight require a negative fecal test, 3.1 percent, against Dallas's 4.6 and Chicago's 20.6. Ten state how long before arrival a vaccine must be given, from Marietta Doggy Daycare's \"NO LATER than 72 hours BEFORE arrival\" to 14 days at three others. Ninety say they will check the paperwork.\n\nEighty-five publish a spay and neuter policy: 53 require it outright, 20 confine it to group play, eight take intact dogs at a surcharge or a separate rate, Countryside Pet Estates requires it of males in group play only, and three do not require it. Where an age is given it runs from six months to Pet Play Place's \"one year of age or first Heat Cycle\". Ninety-one address the temperament evaluation: 54 require one, 11 require a free one, 21 require it only for some dogs, and five say no — Rockdale Kennels: \"Your dog does not have to go through a temperament assessment in order to board with us.\" Forty-eight say whether you can look round; Club DiOGi is one of two that limit it: \"we do not do tours of our playrooms or zen rooms as we have found it is too disruptive to the dogs.\"\n\nOne hundred and six of the 327 listings publish an overnight rate, 37.2 percent of the 285 sites our pricing crawler reached, just above Dallas's 37.0 and under Chicago's 39.9 and Charlotte's 43.3. The median is $45 a night, with the middle half of the market between $40 and $58 — a spread of 1.45x, between Dallas's 1.4x and Chicago's 1.5x. Dallas's median is $50, Charlotte's $54 and Chicago's $60. The extremes run from The Yuppie Puppy, at $12 to $18 a night by size, to Barking Mad Dog Services at $120. Two of the 29 veterinary practices publish a rate. Eighty-two publish a daycare rate, median $33, the same as Dallas and under Charlotte's $35 and Chicago's $41.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Forty-two of the 327 listings are eight chains answering from one corporate site each: seven Puppy Haven, seven Dogtopia, six Barking Hound Village, five PetSmart, five Pet Paradise, four Hounds Town, four Camp Bow Wow and four VCA. Five Dogtopia locations count toward the hours-out-of-kennel figure with the same sentence. Five more listings point at a Facebook page and three at a Rover profile rather than a site of their own. The disclosure decisions of a chain are made once and counted at every address.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a compliance check. A Georgia license means an inspector saw the building before it opened and can come back without warning; it does not tell you whether anyone is in that building at 3am, and the rules do not ask. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 327
}
