{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "chicago-il",
  "name": "Chicago",
  "state": "Illinois",
  "st": "IL",
  "lat": 41.8781,
  "lng": -87.6298,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/chicago-il/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/chicago-il/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/chicago-il/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/chicago-il.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-08-20",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 386,
   "boarding": 319,
   "daycare": 276,
   "catBoarding": 13,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 361,
   "vets": 20,
   "open24": 17,
   "pricedCount": 176,
   "boardingRateCount": 137
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 60,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 137 of 386 indexed Chicago facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 60,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 137,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 137 of 386 indexed Chicago facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 137,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 137 of 386 indexed Chicago facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 75,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 137,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 137 of 386 indexed Chicago facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.5,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 137,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 137 Chicago facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 41,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 120,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 120 of 386 indexed Chicago facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 39.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 343,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "137 of 343 Chicago facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 386,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 319,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 276,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 361,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 20,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 17,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 386,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 386 Chicago facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 43.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "139 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 181 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 6.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 299 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 20.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "66 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 254 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 27.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "88 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 232 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 33,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 318,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "105 of 318 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 213 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 33.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "106 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 214 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 20.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "67 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 253 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 316 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 1.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 316 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 9.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "30 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 290 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 24.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "77 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 243 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 23.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 319,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "74 of 319 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 245 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 15.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "50 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 270 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 27.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "88 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 232 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 35.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "113 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 207 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 38.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 319,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "124 of 319 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 195 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 0.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 319 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 24.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "79 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 241 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 13.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 318,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "44 of 318 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 274 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 19.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 303,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "59 of 303 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 244 sites carried no such statement, and 17 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 19.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "61 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 259 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 1.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 316 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 4.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 307 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 21.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "70 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 250 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 21.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "69 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 251 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 1.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 320,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 320 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 315 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 17.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 319,
   "of": 386,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "57 of 319 Chicago facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 262 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 18.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 286,
   "of": 286,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "53 of 286 dedicated facilities in Chicago, IL whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 15,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 286,
   "of": 286,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "43 of 286 dedicated facilities in Chicago, IL whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 8.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 286,
   "of": 286,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25 of 286 dedicated facilities in Chicago, IL whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:chicago-il",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 15,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 286,
   "of": 286,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "43 of 286 dedicated facilities in Chicago, IL whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "B",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": true,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": true,
  "summary": "Illinois licenses and inspects dog boarding and daycare facilities. The Animal Welfare Act (225 ILCS 605) makes it unlawful to operate as a kennel operator without a license from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, and the Department's Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare licenses and inspects kennel operators, day care operators, breeders, dealers, pet shops, shelters and animal control facilities. The application fee is $350 per license type, licenses expire annually on 30 June, and a preliminary Department inspection is a prerequisite to issuance. Minimum standards for boarding are set in rules, not left to the operator. This is the first market in the index outside Colorado with a genuine state regime — Texas has none at all.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — a state licensing regime is not a quality rating and this index does not measure compliance with it. Chapter 25.120 sets a floor (distemper vaccination, records, consent for group housing); it says nothing about staffing, group size, or overnight supervision. No page may state or suggest that a facility is compliant, non-compliant, licensed or unlicensed on the basis of anything in this index.",
  "register": "Tier B rather than Tier A: the Department publishes an A-Z license look-up on agr.illinois.gov, but we found no downloadable, machine-readable list of animal welfare licensees comparable to Colorado's PACFA export. Until one is obtained, no Chicago facility carries a license record in this index, and NO facility may be rendered as unlicensed — the correct statement is 'no record retrieved from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, checked 2026-08-20'.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-08-20"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Ten Chicago-area facility websites say nobody is in the building overnight, and four of the ten are one Central Bark sentence. At a Chicago address the median published boarding rate is $85 a night; across the rest of the metro it is $52.50.",
  "body": "Chicago is a Tier B market. Under the Illinois Animal Welfare Act a kennel operator needs a license from the Department of Agriculture, a Department inspector visits before that license is issued, and the boarding rules in 8 Ill. Adm. Code 25.120 set a floor: no dog is accepted without a distemper vaccination and proof of it, records are kept for twelve months, a sick animal goes to a vet of the owner's choosing, and animals may not be group-housed unless the owner gave prior consent and the kennel kept a record of it. Illinois decided that putting your dog in with other dogs is something you agree to in advance. That consent lives on a form at the counter, not on a website. The Department offers a license look-up but no downloadable register, so no facility here carries a license record; the honest statement is \"no record retrieved from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, checked 2026-08-20\". Fifteen of the listings are in northwest Indiana, where the Illinois Act does not reach at all.\n\nThe market grew when we widened it. The index now covers the counties of the Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 386 listings, 108 of them at a Chicago address. 343 publish a website, and we reached and reviewed 320. Every disclosure share below uses those 320 as the denominator.\n\nSixty-seven of the 320 address overnight staffing, 20.9 percent against 13.7 percent in Dallas. Fifty-seven say a person is on site. Earth Pups answers in the words an owner would use: \"Is my dog alone overnight? Nope! Our loving staff spend the night 365 days/year so your pups are never alone.\" Camp Ruff It goes further, saying its overnight staff \"share the same room (and even the same bed)\" with the dogs. Ten say nobody stays. Pooch Town is the plainest: \"we do not have someone stay overnight. We have surveillance and alarm systems set in place for the safety of our guests.\" Dogaholics gives the hours: \"Our staff are on site until 8:00 PM at which time your fur-baby will retire to their kennel and our facility will be locked.\" Four of the ten are Central Bark locations publishing one chain sentence, two are Hounds Town locations publishing another, and seven of the 57 yeses are PUPS Pet Club locations sharing a third. The other 253 sites are silent.\n\nSupervision numbers are thin but not empty, which already puts Chicago ahead of Dallas, where none of 328 sites publishes a ratio. Four Chicago sites do. Three settle on one to fifteen: PupStars Pet Care cites \"a handler-to-dog ratio of 1:15\", Good Dog Co keeps packs to \"no more than 15 dogs per handler\", and Rover Unleashed says the same in reverse. Keynine Academy hedges: \"Typically, staff has a ratio of 10-1 depending upon sizes, activities or behavior of the group.\" Four listings publish a playgroup cap, and two of them are the same business listed twice: Stay A Modern Dog Hotel and Peace, Love, & Happy Pets both stop at six, while Sit Social describes a \"Playgroup of 15-20 little ones\". One site publishes a capacity, The Wag Lab: \"a limited capacity of 20 dogs per day\". Four publish what happens when a dog is hurt or ill, and all four are about phoning the owner and finding a vet; Rockstar Pets Chicago names the hospital, MedVet. None of the 320 says what happens after a fight.\n\nSeventy-seven describe a play model. Thirty-nine run open play all day, 26 open play with enforced rest, nine structured rotation, and three no group play at all. Oak Brook Kennel Club states the case against packs most bluntly: \"We don't do packs where the little guys get lost and the big guys have to maneuver for dominance.\" Gypsy Glen K-9 Kastle offers \"structured solo play 4 times daily to reduce stress and overstimulation.\" Fifty say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, and the answers do not compare. Camp K-9 Pet Resort and Spa promises dogs are \"outside for a minimum of 15 minutes\" each rotation; Dogtopia of Downers Grove offers \"up to 10 hours of off-leash play per day\". Twelve of the 50 are PetSmart Doggie Day Camp listings publishing the same line about \"twice-daily exercise walks and unlimited potty breaks.\"\n\nHealth screening is where Chicago is most forthcoming. One hundred thirty-nine sites publish a vaccination list, 43.4 percent against Dallas's 47.0. Every one requires rabies and distemper. One hundred thirty-five require Bordetella, which the state does not, and The Barker Shop draws the line exactly: \"Illinois Department of Agriculture requires: Rabies Distemper We also recommend Bordetella and Leptospirosis for added protection.\" Pawsitively Heaven does not require Bordetella and sets a timing rule only if you give it: \"at least 7-10 days prior to their visit/stay\". Canine influenza splits the market: 25 require it, 24 recommend it, and 90 lists leave it out. Leptospirosis is required by 16. Twenty-one sites publish a Bordetella window, from two days before arrival to fourteen. Sixty-six require a negative fecal test, 20.6 percent against 4.6 in Dallas, though seven of them are PUPS Pet Club locations. One hundred six say they verify records rather than take an owner's word. Thirty publish a staff certification: 25 in pet first aid or CPR and five Fear Free.\n\nEighty-eight publish a spay and neuter policy. Fifty-five require it outright, 29 only for group play, and four only for males; where an age is given it runs from six to twelve months. Of 318 sites reviewed for evaluations, 105 publish a rule: 74 require one, 13 offer it free, 16 require it for some dogs, and two say no, The Gold Leash Pet Hotel & Daycare among them: \"No assessments are required.\" Sixty-one publish a tour policy. Most will show you around, by appointment or not; four offer only a virtual tour, and two decline. Camp K-9 does so \"because of the stress it puts on our guests\", and Dogaholics cites \"city regulations and liability issues\".\n\nPrice separates the city from its suburbs more than from Dallas. Across the metro, 137 of 386 listings publish an overnight rate, 39.9 percent of the 343 websites our pricing crawler reached against 37.0 in Dallas. The median is $60 a night against Dallas's $50, with the middle half between $50 and $75, a spread of 1.5x. Daycare runs a median $41, from 120 listings, against $33. Split by address, the 49 priced facilities in Chicago itself have a median of $85 and the 88 elsewhere $52.50. The published floor is Kountry Pet Resort, \"as low as $25.95 per day\"; the ceiling is $115, at Hill Family Pet Care for clients not on a subscription.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every count. Several chains answer for many listings with one set of pages. PetSmart's twelve Doggie Day Camp listings publish identical copy, as do PUPS Pet Club's seven, PetSuites' five, Central Bark's four and Wag Hotels' three, and Dogtopia's eight locations share much of theirs. Five more operators list two addresses against one website. A count of sites is not a count of decisions.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is emphatically not a compliance check. A license shows an inspector came before the doors opened; it does not tell you whether anyone is in the building at 3am, and an empty field here means only that nothing was published on a page we could read. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 386
}
