{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "columbus-oh",
  "name": "Columbus",
  "state": "Ohio",
  "st": "OH",
  "lat": 39.9612,
  "lng": -82.9988,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/columbus-oh/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/columbus-oh/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/columbus-oh/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/columbus-oh.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-10-19",
  "censusAt": "2026-10-19",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 163,
   "boarding": 144,
   "daycare": 104,
   "catBoarding": 10,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 113,
   "vets": 28,
   "open24": 3,
   "pricedCount": 75,
   "boardingRateCount": 66
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 43,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 66 of 163 indexed Columbus facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 43,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 66 of 163 indexed Columbus facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 35,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 66 of 163 indexed Columbus facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 66 of 163 indexed Columbus facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.43,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 66 Columbus facilities, 2026-10-19. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 30,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 53 of 163 indexed Columbus facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-10-19.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 46.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 143,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "66 of 143 Columbus facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-10-19. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 163,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 144,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 104,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 113,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 28,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 3,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 163,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 163 Columbus facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 46.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "63 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 73 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 2.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 132 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 8.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 124 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 29.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "40 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 96 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 27.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "37 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 99 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 36,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "49 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 87 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 14,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 134 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 1.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 134 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 6.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 127 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 13.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 118 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 12.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 119 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 11.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 120 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 21.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 107 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 24.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "33 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 103 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 38.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "52 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 84 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 2.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 132 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 23.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "32 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 104 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 8.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 124 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 15,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 133,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 133 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 113 sites carried no such statement, and 3 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 11,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 121 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 3.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 131 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 0.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 135 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 17.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "24 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 112 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 29.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "40 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 96 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 2.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 136,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 136 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 132 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 8.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 135,
   "of": 163,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 135 Columbus facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 124 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 19.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 91,
   "of": 91,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 91 dedicated facilities in Columbus, OH whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 24.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 91,
   "of": 91,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "22 of 91 dedicated facilities in Columbus, OH whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 9.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 91,
   "of": 91,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 91 dedicated facilities in Columbus, OH whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:columbus-oh",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 17.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 91,
   "of": 91,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 91 dedicated facilities in Columbus, OH whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Ohio does not license dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. ORC Chapter 956 licenses high volume breeders (956.04) and dog brokers (956.05), registers animal rescues for dogs (956.06), and provides for pet-store licenses (see 956.03); it defines 'boarding kennel' but imposes no license on one. The only state touchpoints are incidental: the Director of Agriculture 'shall inspect a boarding kennel when the director ... has received information that the boarding kennel is breeding dogs and may be subject to licensure' (ORC 956.10(A)(2)), a boarding kennel may not refuse an inspection (956.10(E)), and the Director may contract with a boarding kennel to house dogs seized from breeders (956.11). The county 'kennel' license under ORC 955.01 is for breeding establishments only. Columbus zoning code 3303.01 treats an 'animal kennel' as boarding for more than a consecutive 24-hour period and says pet day care with no outside runs is not one, and Columbus Public Health's permit page lists no kennel, boarding or daycare permit.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — this is regime research, not a quality rating. Chapter 956 licenses breeders, not boarding kennels; a boarding kennel having no state license is the normal case. No page may state or suggest that a facility is licensed, unlicensed, permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant on the basis of anything in the Dogs Away index.",
  "register": "Tier C. There is no Ohio license for boarding or daycare, so no register exists to join.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-10-19"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Fourteen Columbus-area facilities say a person is on site overnight, and eight of them say so because an owner or caretaker lives on the property. Five say nobody is, and 117 of the 136 websites we reviewed say nothing either way.",
  "body": "Columbus is a Tier C market. Ohio's kennel law, Chapter 956 of the Revised Code, licenses high-volume breeders and dog brokers, registers rescues, and defines a boarding kennel without requiring it to hold a license. The state inspects one only when told it may be breeding dogs, and Columbus Public Health lists no kennel, boarding or daycare permit. There is no license number to look up, no inspection history to read, and no register to join to this index. In Ohio that is the normal case, not a mark against anyone. Every operating fact below sits on a website or behind a phone number, and nothing else has checked it for you.\n\nThe market now covers the counties of the Columbus Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 163 listings, all in Ohio, 45 of them at a Columbus address. A hundred and thirteen are dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and 28 are veterinary practices that board; 144 offer boarding and 104 daycare. Of the 143 with a website, we reached and reviewed 136, and every disclosure share below uses those 136 as the denominator.\n\nNineteen of the 136 address overnight staffing, 14.0 percent, level with Dallas at 13.7 and below Chicago at 20.9. Fourteen say a person is on site. Eight of those say so because an owner or caretaker lives on the property, and Home Away Boarding Kennel is candid about the limit: \"The owner live onsite adjacent to the kennel but occasionally may be off the property.\" The other six describe staff, and Fuzzz PlayGround is the most specific: \"A staff member will stay overnight with the cage-free guests to ensure their comfort all through the night.\" Five say nobody stays. Three are Puptown Lounge locations sharing one sentence: \"While our staff is not on-site overnight, safety protocols are in place, and your dog will be secure in a comfortable, climate-controlled suite or kennel.\" All Paws Retreat asks the question in the owner's words: \"Does someone stay overnight with my pup? We do not currently have a person on-site overnight.\" Hounds Town - Westerville says it has \"an established routine for weekends and holidays\". The other 117 are silent.\n\nCurators rejected ten passages that sounded like an overnight answer and were not. KAMP Dog Lodge and Spa's 24/7 promise is about security cameras; Come, Sit and Stay Kennel and Common Paws advertise 24/7 supervision without saying anyone is there at 3am. Those count as silent. Three listings carry 24-hour listing hours, and none of the three is among the 19 that answer the question.\n\nTwo sites publish a staff-to-dog ratio, and both land on one to fifteen. KAMP Dog Lodge and Spa keeps \"a low 1:15 caregiver-to-dog ratio\"; Turning Tails Pet Company says \"our daycare is capped at 15 canines to 1 staff member.\" Two publish a playgroup cap: Come, Sit and Stay Kennel keeps groups to \"no more than 15 dogs\", Top Dog Daycare and Boarding Dublin and Plain City to \"8-15 dogs\". Four publish a capacity, from All Purpose K-9 LLC's \"Limited to 15 dogs per day\" to Happy Tails Dog Boarding & Daycare's \"37 spacious runs\". Five publish what happens after an illness or injury, three of them the Puptown pages, and all five amount to a promise to call the owner and, if needed, a vet. Camp Run-A-Mutt Columbus adds who pays: \"you will be responsible for associated costs\". None of the 136 says what happens after a fight.\n\nEighteen describe a play model: seven run open play all day, ten open play with enforced rest, and one, Buckeye K9 Doggie Daycare, a structured rotation. Three of the ten are PetSuites locations publishing the same sentence. Hayden Run Animal Lodge rejects the group model entirely: \"we never mix guests together in chaotic group settings.\" Twenty-nine describe an option for a dog that cannot do group play, and ten of them charge for it; where a price is given it runs from $9 at Parkside Pups to $16 at All Tails R Waggin'. Sixteen say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, and the answers do not compare: Yarwood Kennels advertises \"9 Playtimes Each Day\", and Dogtopia's Dublin location promises 10 hours.\n\nSixty-three sites publish a vaccination list, 46.3 percent against Dallas's 47.0 and Chicago's 43.4. Every one requires rabies, and 61 require Bordetella. The Four Paws Resort is the clearest exception: \"Bordetella is optional, but if it is administered, it must be done 2 weeks before admission to the Resort.\" Canine influenza splits the market: 26 require it, eight recommend it, and 29 lists leave it out. Leptospirosis is required by 15. Only four publish a timing window: 48 hours for any vaccine at All Tails R Waggin' and Lucky Bones Pet Resort, ten days at K9 Resorts Luxury Pet Hotel Hilliard, and two weeks at the Four Paws. Forty-nine say they verify records rather than take an owner's word. Twelve require a negative fecal test, 8.8 percent, between Dallas's 4.6 and Chicago's 20.6.\n\nForty publish a spay and neuter policy. Twenty-four require it outright and 15 only for group play, so an intact dog can board but not join the pack. Suite Dreams - Canine Resort makes exceptions with \"prior approval and additional costs per night\". Where an age is given, across 35 listings, it runs from six months to a year, with seven months the most common; Lead the Way K9 Training & Boarding sets six for females and twelve for males. Thirty-seven address a temperament evaluation: 20 require one, seven require one that is free, nine require it only for some dogs or for group play, and My-T-Fine Kennels says \"It is not required\". Camp Run-A-Mutt Columbus asks the most, a paid full daycare day \"before booking overnight boarding\". Fifteen publish a tour policy and none declines; Pet Palace describes \"an open door policy\". Nine publish a staff certification, and only All Paws Retreat counts heads: \"40+ Pet First Aid & CPR Certified Staff\".\n\nSixty-six of the 163 listings publish an overnight rate, 46.2 percent of the 143 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas and 39.9 in Chicago. The median is $43 a night, with the middle half between $35 and $50, a spread of 1.43x. Dallas sits at $50 and Chicago at $60. Fifty-three publish a daycare rate, median $30 against Dallas's $33 and Chicago's $41. Address matters little: the 20 priced facilities at a Columbus address have a median of $46, the 46 elsewhere $41.50. The published floor is Dogwood Lane Kennels at $18 a day. The ceiling is Blended Acres Dog Loft at $75 a stay: \"Your dog(s) will stay overnight in my home.\"\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every count. Twenty-one of the 163 listings share a website with at least one other listing, across eight sites, and PetSuites' three locations publish identical copy on separate subdomains. Puptown Lounge's three listings resolve to one set of pages, so about a dozen fields are curated three times from one document, and three of the five overnight \"no\" answers are that document. A count of sites is not a count of decisions.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment. An owner who lives beside the kennel and a daycare that locks up at night have made different choices about the same risk, and Ohio has taken no position on either for boarding kennels. A silent website has told you only that the fact is not on its website on this date. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 163
}
