{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "indianapolis-in",
  "name": "Indianapolis",
  "state": "Indiana",
  "st": "IN",
  "lat": 39.7684,
  "lng": -86.1581,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/indianapolis-in/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/indianapolis-in/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/indianapolis-in/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/indianapolis-in.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-10-19",
  "censusAt": "2026-10-19",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 29,
   "boarding": 26,
   "daycare": 19,
   "catBoarding": 0,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 23,
   "vets": 1,
   "open24": 1,
   "pricedCount": 11,
   "boardingRateCount": 10
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 46,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 10 of 29 indexed Indianapolis facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 46,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 10,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 10 of 29 indexed Indianapolis facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 36,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 6,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 6 of 29 indexed Indianapolis facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-10-19.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 38.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 26,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 26 Indianapolis facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-10-19. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 29,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 26,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 19,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 23,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 1,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 1,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 29 Indianapolis facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 66.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 7 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 20 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 42.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 12 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 40,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 20,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 20 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 12 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 42.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 12 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 19,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 17 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 9.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 19 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 20 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 38.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 13 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 28.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 15 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 52.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 10 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 66.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 7 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 61.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 8 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 23.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 16 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 14 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 25,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 20,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 20 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 15 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 19,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 17 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 20 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 47.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 11 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 57.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 9 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 21 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 9.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 21 Indianapolis facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 19 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 47.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 17,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 17 dedicated facilities in Indianapolis, IN whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 35.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 17,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 17 dedicated facilities in Indianapolis, IN whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 5.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 17,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 17 dedicated facilities in Indianapolis, IN whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:indianapolis-in",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 47.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 17,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 17 dedicated facilities in Indianapolis, IN whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Indiana does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. The Indiana State Board of Animal Health (BOAH) FAQ says it 'does not currently license kennel operations' as long as dog breeding is not part of the operation. BOAH registers commercial dog breeders and brokers (IC 15-21), retail pet stores, and animal care facilities and animal rescue operations (IC 15-21-2-1). BOAH's registration page defines an animal care facility as an animal control center, animal shelter, humane society, or other animal impounding facility, and does not mention boarding or daycare. In Indianapolis-Marion County, boarding kennels must register with the city license administrator under Code ch. 836 ($200).",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — this is regime research, not a quality rating. BOAH's animal care facility registry covers shelters and rescues; it says nothing about boarding. No page may state or suggest that a facility is licensed, unlicensed, permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant on the basis of anything in the Dogs Away index.",
  "register": "Tier C. No state boarding license or register exists. A city kennel registration exists under Code ch. 836, but no public roll of registrations was found.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-10-19"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Four of 21 Indianapolis facility websites say whether anyone is in the building overnight, and one of the four says no. Fourteen publish a vaccine list, 66.7 percent against 47.0 in Dallas and 43.4 in Chicago.",
  "body": "Indianapolis is a Tier C market. Indiana does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. The State Board of Animal Health keeps registers, but they cover commercial dog breeders and brokers, retail pet stores, and shelters, humane societies and other impounding facilities, not boarding. Inside Indianapolis-Marion County, chapter 836 of the city code requires a commercial kennel to register with the city license administrator for $200 a year, and Animal Care Services may inspect before a registration is issued or renewed. We found no public list of those registrations, so there is no number to look up and no inspection history to read. Every listing in this market has an Indiana address, so the state rules above are the only ones in play. Nothing in this index says whether a given facility is or is not covered by the city rule.\n\nThe market is the counties of the Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown, and it is small: 29 listings, 23 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and one veterinary practice that boards. Twenty-six publish a website. We reached and reviewed 21 of them, and every disclosure share below uses those 21 as the denominator. The other five gave us nothing to read: both Puppy Playground listings returned a 404, Camp Bow Wow Southport refused the crawler, PetsHotel Castleton is a reservation page and J & J Pet Grooming is a Facebook page. Two of the 21, Indy Hound and Happy Hounds, were readable only on a second pass with a browser.\n\nOvernight staffing is the question an owner most wants answered, and four of the 21 answer it, 19.0 percent against 13.7 in Dallas and 20.9 in Chicago. Three say a person is there. The Kennel at Arbor Lane answers its own FAQ: \"Does someone live on property? Yes, the owners live right on the property.\" Indys Dogs boards in a house: \"Since this is a home setting, your dog will never be left alone!\" Indy Hound lists \"Trained, dog-loving staff on site at all times\". One says nobody is. Best Friends Pet Hotel's chain FAQ is plain: \"We do not have staff members on site overnight, except at our Walt Disney World location.\" The other 17 are silent. PetSmart Doggie Day Camp is the near-miss: its page lists \"On-site care & on-call vet\" under Overnight Stays, which does not say anyone is in the building at 3am, so it counts as silent here.\n\nThe supervision numbers are all zero. Not one of the 21 publishes a staff-to-dog ratio, a maximum playgroup size, a capacity, or what happens after an injury or a fight. Barkefellers comes closest, saying on all three of its listings that it keeps a \"strict staff-to-dog ratio\" and never giving the figure. One site describes a play model: Indy Hound runs an \"Open playroom — all dogs play together\". Seven more say how dogs are grouped. Uptown Pup and Lucky Dog Retreat sort by size and temperament, Dogtopia of Broad Ripple and PetSmart by size, temperament and play style, and Barkefellers by size, play personality and energy level. Six say how much time a boarded dog spends out of its room, and the answers do not compare. Good Dog Hotel & Spa offers \"3 daily potty walks\". Five Points Kennels lists \"4 bathroom breaks outside in artificial dog grass yards\". Barkefellers promises \"at least 3 daily trips out to a private play yard\", and Indys Dogs offers \"unlimited outings\". Eleven describe an option for a dog that does not join the group. Two sell it by the session: Five Points' ten-minute \"TENNIS TIME\" at $8 and Good Dog's \"Private one on one time\" at $17.\n\nAdmission is where Indianapolis publishes most. Fourteen of the 21 list their vaccine requirements, and three of those are the Barkefellers listings, so the count is 12 operators. All 14 require rabies, distemper and Bordetella. Canine influenza splits the list: five require it (the three Barkefellers, Priority Boarding and Good Dog Hotel & Spa), four recommend it (Five Points, Uptown Pup, Lucky Dog Retreat and Canine Continental), and five leave it out. Canine Continental puts the middle position most plainly: \"We do recommend lepto & Flu but they are not required.\" Leptospirosis is required by one, Sleepy Hollow Pet Ranch, and recommended by three. Lucky Dog is the only site to state a timing rule: \"All required vaccinations must be administered at least 48 hours prior to your pet’s stay.\" Nine say they will check proof of vaccination rather than take an owner's word, and Five Points wants it \"14 days prior to your reservation\". None require a fecal test.\n\nNine publish a spay and neuter policy. Seven restrict the requirement to group play, and all six that give an age say six months. Two say it is not required for boarding. Indys Dogs: \"Your pet is not required to be spayed or neutered to stay here.\" Priority Boarding takes \"intact male dogs that are not aggressive\" and puts intact females in specific suites. Eight of 20 sites reviewed for evaluations publish a rule. Three require one of every new dog: Indys Dogs asks for \"a meet and greet in advance\", Dogtopia of Broad Ripple a \"Meet & Greet evaluation\", and Canine Continental a full day of daycare first, so it can \"evaluate your dog s temperament in a boarding environment.\" Five require one only for daycare or group play, among them Barkefellers' \"Temperament Test\". Four publish a tour policy. Three welcome walk-ins, Downtown Doggie with \"no appointment needed\", and Uptown Pup asks for an appointment. Seven say an owner can watch on a camera, 33.3 percent against 15.3 in Dallas and 13.8 in Chicago, though three of the seven are Barkefellers.\n\nPrice is about as findable here as in the larger markets. Ten of the 29 listings publish an overnight rate, 38.5 percent of the 26 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 percent in Dallas and 39.9 in Chicago. The median is $46 a night, against $50 in Dallas, $60 in Chicago and $43 in Columbus. Ten rates are two short of the 12 needed to publish the middle half and the spread, so those are withheld. The lowest published starting rates run from $36 at Canine Continental, where boarding includes daycare, to $60 at Indys Dogs. The highest figure on any rate card is $89 a night, for Priority Boarding's Sanctuary Suites Royale. Six facilities publish a daycare rate, and the median is $36 a day.\n\nOne structural caveat applies to every number. Barkefellers South, West and Northeast resolve to one website whose FAQ, policy and lodging pages are chain-wide and name no single location. That is three of the 21 reviewed sites carrying one set of decisions, and in a market this size it moves every share: it accounts for three of the five influenza requirements, three of the seven camera answers and three of the six out-of-room answers. The two Puppy Playground listings share a website too, and neither has any evidence at all. PetSmart appears twice, as Doggie Day Camp and as PetsHotel Castleton, and only the first could be read.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a compliance check. Without a public register of city kennel registrations, the facility's own website is the only public record an owner can read in advance, and an empty field here means only that nothing was published on a page we could read on that day. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 29
}
