{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "kansas-city-mo",
  "name": "Kansas City",
  "state": "Missouri",
  "st": "MO",
  "lat": 39.0997,
  "lng": -94.5786,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/kansas-city-mo/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/kansas-city-mo/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/kansas-city-mo/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/kansas-city-mo.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-10-19",
  "censusAt": "2026-10-19",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 154,
   "boarding": 137,
   "daycare": 83,
   "catBoarding": 3,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 99,
   "vets": 34,
   "open24": 4,
   "pricedCount": 48,
   "boardingRateCount": 43
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 45,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 43 of 154 indexed Kansas City facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 45,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 43,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 43 of 154 indexed Kansas City facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 39,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 43,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 43 of 154 indexed Kansas City facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 51,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 43,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 43 of 154 indexed Kansas City facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-19. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.31,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 43,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 43 Kansas City facilities, 2026-10-19. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 33,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 31,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 31 of 154 indexed Kansas City facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-10-19.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 30.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 140,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "43 of 140 Kansas City facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-10-19. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 154,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 137,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 83,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 99,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 34,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 4,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 154,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 154 Kansas City facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-19. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 47.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "59 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 65 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 119 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 11.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 110 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 32.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "40 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 84 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 23.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 95 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 28.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "35 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 89 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 118 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 122 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 2.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 121 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 1.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 122 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 15.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 105 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 11.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 110 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 10.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 111 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 14.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 106 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 23.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 95 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 29.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "37 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 87 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 118 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 19.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "24 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 100 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 9.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 112 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 8.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 122,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 122 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 112 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 18.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "23 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 101 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 3.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 120 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 5.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 19.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "24 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 100 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 27.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "34 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 90 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 124 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 9.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 124,
   "of": 154,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 124 Kansas City facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-19. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 112 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-19"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 24,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 75,
   "of": 75,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 75 dedicated facilities in Kansas City, MO whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 20,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 75,
   "of": 75,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 75 dedicated facilities in Kansas City, MO whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 10.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 75,
   "of": 75,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 75 dedicated facilities in Kansas City, MO whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:kansas-city-mo",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 10.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 75,
   "of": 75,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 75 dedicated facilities in Kansas City, MO whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "B",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": true,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": true,
  "summary": "Missouri licenses and inspects boarding kennels. The Animal Care Facilities Act (RSMo 273.325 to 273.357) makes it unlawful to operate a boarding kennel or commercial kennel (a kennel that also grooms or trains) without a license from the Director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture, and operating without a valid license is a class A misdemeanor (273.329). The license text covers a place where animals are sheltered, fed and watered for pay; the Department's FAQ describes overnight care, and day-only daycare is not addressed by name. The initial fee is $125, and renewal is $125 plus a per capita fee of $0.10 per animal per boarding day (capped). The Department publishes no licensee list; inspection reports are available to the public on request. Kansas City, Missouri City Code section 14-39 also requires every commercial animal establishment, which includes a boarding kennel, to hold an annual permit from the city ($100).",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — this is regime research, not a quality rating. The Missouri license is a floor, not a quality grade, and this index does not measure compliance with it. No page may state or suggest that a facility is licensed, unlicensed, permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant on the basis of anything in the Dogs Away index.",
  "register": "Tier B rather than Tier A: the Department of Agriculture licenses and inspects boarding kennels, but its Animal Care Facility Program page (https://agriculture.mo.gov/animals/ACFA) offers no licensee list, no search tool and no downloadable export; the only PDFs are forms and rules. Inspection reports are available only by Sunshine Law request. A Sunshine request for an electronic licensee list could promote Missouri to Tier A. Until one is obtained, no facility carries a license record in this index, and NO facility may be rendered as unlicensed; the correct statement is 'no record retrieved from the Missouri Department of Agriculture, checked 2026-10-19'.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-10-19"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Six of the 124 Kansas City-area websites we reviewed say who is in the building overnight: five say someone is, and Mellow Fellow in Spring Hill, Kansas, says nobody sleeps on site. The median published boarding rate is $45 a night, and it moves by a dollar across the state line.",
  "body": "Kansas City is a Tier B market, but only on the Missouri side. The Missouri Department of Agriculture licenses and inspects boarding kennels under the Animal Care Facilities Act, and running one without a license is a class A misdemeanor. The Department publishes no licensee list, and inspection reports come only by Sunshine Law request, so no listing here carries a license record; the honest statement is \"no record retrieved from the Missouri Department of Agriculture, checked 2026-10-19\". The statute never names day-only daycare. Inside Kansas City, Missouri, the city adds an annual $100 permit for every commercial animal establishment, a boarding kennel included; 30 listings have a Kansas City, Missouri address. All of that covers the 79 listings with Missouri addresses. The other 75 are in Kansas, and Kansas rules were not researched for this index, so nothing here says what Kansas requires of them.\n\nThe market is the counties of the Kansas City Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 154 listings, 99 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and 34 veterinary practices that board. Of the 139 with a website, we reached and reviewed 124, 65 in Kansas and 59 in Missouri. Every disclosure share below uses those 124 as the denominator.\n\nSix of the 124 address overnight staffing, 4.8 percent, against 13.6 percent in St. Louis, 13.7 in Dallas and 20.9 in Chicago. Five say a person is on site. Devery's Doggie Chateau: \"We live on site. Therefore the dogs are never left in the facility unattended.\" Captain Creek Ranch says \"The owner lives on the Captain Creek Ranch property\", and Pawz at Play describes \"staff sleeping in the room to ensure your pup is never alone\". Two of the five are Cuddle Up Pup's two locations, which share one sentence about \"24/7 on-site staff\". One site says nobody stays. Mellow Fellow: \"Overnight Monitoring Mellow Fellow does not have staff sleeping on site overnight.\" The other 118 are silent.\n\nSupervision numbers are scarce but not absent. Two sites publish a staff-to-dog ratio, and both settle on one to fifteen: Mellow Fellow says \"We maintain a 1-to-15 staff-to-dog ratio across our three play rooms\", and On the Ball cites the same figure for its Prairie Village daycare. CITYDOGs KC is the near miss, describing \"strict rules on staff-to-pet ratios\" without a number. Three publish a playgroup cap: Happy Dog Ranch & Resort keeps groups to \"8-10 dogs/yard\", Broadmore Pet Retreat sets a \"Maximum 10 participants per play group\", and Mellow Fellow stops at 15 a room. Six publish a capacity, from Kansas City Veterinary Care's \"maximum capacity of five dogs at a time\" to Elkhound Ranch Kennels' 102 runs. Four say what happens when a dog is hurt or ill. Three are about calling the owner and a vet. Mellow Fellow's is the only one in the market that addresses a fight: \"If a dog bites another dog in our care, the owner of the dog responsible for the bite will be liable\" for the vet bill.\n\nNineteen describe a play model. Nine run open play with an enforced rest, usually a midday nap, eight run open play all day, and two run no group play at all. Quivira Crossing Veterinary Clinic is plain about it: \"No playtime allowed with other pets\". Pupachinos Doggy Daycare & Boarding is the opposite case: \"We run a single pack where all dogs play together; regardless of age, breed, size or energy level.\" Thirteen say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, and the answers do not compare. Mystic Acres Kennel lets dogs out \"twice a day for 15 to 20 minutes\" in summer; Dogtopia of Olathe promises \"8-10 hours of open-play\". Eighteen describe an option for a dog that does not do group play, and Pupachinos is the one that says it has none.\n\nAdmission is where Kansas City operators say the most. Fifty-nine sites publish a vaccination list, 47.6 percent, level with Dallas at 47.0 and below St. Louis at 58.0. All 59 require rabies. Fifty-eight require Bordetella; Dog & Cat Clinic is the exception, listing \"Bordetella (not required, but recommended)\". Starr School Paws requires rabies and Bordetella and only recommends the distemper combination: \"We also recommend the following vaccines but they are not required.\" Canine influenza is required by 11, recommended by four and unmentioned by 44, so a dog without it can book at most of these places and not at about one in five. Leptospirosis is required by eight. Five give a Bordetella window, from 48 hours at Dogtopia of North Overland Park to ten days at K9 Resorts and both Cuddle Up Pup locations. Fourteen require a negative fecal test, 11.3 percent against 4.6 in Dallas and 20.6 in Chicago. Thirty-five say they want proof of vaccination, not an owner's word.\n\nForty publish a spay and neuter policy. Twenty-five require it outright, ten only for group play, two only for males, and two accept intact dogs for more money: Devery's charges $30 a night for a dog that is not fixed, and Happy Dog Ranch lists an intact adult at $30 against $25. Lily's Play-N-Stay is the one that says no: \"We do not require dogs to be altered.\" Where an age is given it runs from six months, at 18 listings, to twelve. Collars Dog Resort attributes its group-play rule to the state: \"The Missouri Department of Agriculture requires all dogs in group play to be spayed or neutered.\" This index has not checked that claim. Twenty-nine address a temperament evaluation: 12 require one and say it is free, eight require one without mentioning a fee, eight require it only for some dogs or for group play, and Lily's again says no: \"No formal eval is required.\" Twenty-three publish a tour policy, and none of them declines a visit.\n\nForty-three of the 154 listings publish an overnight rate, 30.7 percent of the 140 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 31.6 in St. Louis, 37.0 in Dallas and 39.9 in Chicago. The median is $45 a night, under St. Louis at $51, Dallas at $50 and Chicago at $60, with the middle half between $39 and $51, a spread of 1.3x. Split by address, the 19 priced Kansas listings have a median of $45 and the 24 Missouri listings $46. The floor is Dawg Pound Playground, $14.99 a night for its smallest kennel; the highest starting rate is $64, at K9 Resorts Luxury Pet Hotel Overland Park and Precision Dog Training Academy. Thirty-one publish a daycare rate, median $33.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every count. Thirty-two of the 154 listings share a website with at least one other listing, across 11 sites. Woof's Play & Stay's six locations publish one FAQ, so six of the 59 vaccine lists, six of the 12 free evaluations and six of the nine open-door tour policies are one decision counted six times. Camp Bow Wow's five listings share a chain site that did not answer our crawler, and they carry no values here, which is a fact about our crawl and not about them. Dogtopia, PetSmart and Pete & Mac's have three listings each, and Doggie Style Bowtique appears twice at one address. A count of sites is not a count of decisions.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a compliance check on either side of the state line. A Missouri license shows the state can inspect a kennel; it does not tell you whether anyone is in the building at 3am, and an empty field here means only that nothing was published on a page we could read. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 154
}
