{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "nashville-tn",
  "name": "Nashville",
  "state": "Tennessee",
  "st": "TN",
  "lat": 36.1627,
  "lng": -86.7816,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/nashville-tn/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/nashville-tn/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/nashville-tn/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/nashville-tn.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-07",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 48,
   "boarding": 47,
   "daycare": 31,
   "catBoarding": 4,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 31,
   "vets": 15,
   "open24": 0,
   "pricedCount": 23,
   "boardingRateCount": 19
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 19 of 48 indexed Nashville facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 19,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 19 of 48 indexed Nashville facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 43,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 19,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 19 of 48 indexed Nashville facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 65,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 19,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 19 of 48 indexed Nashville facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.51,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 19,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 19 Nashville facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 32,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 18,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 18 of 48 indexed Nashville facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 39.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 48 Nashville facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 48,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 47,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 31,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 31,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 15,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 48 Nashville facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 60.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 19 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 6.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 45 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 2.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 47 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 41.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 28 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 31.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 33 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 43.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 27 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 29.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 34 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 48 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 48 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 14.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 41 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 45.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "22 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 26 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 31.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 33 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 22.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 22.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "24 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 24 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 41.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 28 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 4.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 46 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 35.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 31 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 19.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 46,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 46 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 12.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 39,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 39 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 34 sites carried no such statement, and 9 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 25,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 16.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 40 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 21.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 46,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 46 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 35.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 31 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 37.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 30 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 48 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 18.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 48,
   "of": 48,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 48 Nashville facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 37.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 29 dedicated facilities in Nashville, TN whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 27.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 29 dedicated facilities in Nashville, TN whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 20.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 29 dedicated facilities in Nashville, TN whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:nashville-tn",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 34.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 29,
   "of": 29,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 29 dedicated facilities in Nashville, TN whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Tennessee does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. The only state program that ever licensed dog facilities, the Commercial Breeder Act (T.C.A. §§ 44-17-701 et seq., administered by the Department of Health), covered breeders holding twenty or more unsterilised adult females, expressly excluded businesses operating 'for the exclusive purpose of engaging in the business of boarding or grooming, or both', and expired by its own sunset clause on 30 June 2014; it has not been renewed. There is no state inspection regime, no public inspection record, and no state license number to look up. Nashville is the same Tier C picture as Dallas. Locally, Metro Nashville regulates boarding through zoning: the code defines an 'animal boarding facility' and attaches use conditions (setbacks from residences, impervious floors, cage size, fencing, water and waste rules) under Title 17, and the Metro Health Department's $20–$30 'kennel keeper' license in § 8.04.040 applies to kennels 'where dogs are bred for sale', not to boarding. Those are zoning conditions, not a licensing-and-inspection regime, and were not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — Tennessee has no state license, no state inspection, and no consumer disclosure law for boarding kennels. Metro Nashville's animal-boarding-facility conditions are zoning rules about the building and the lot; they say nothing about staffing, vaccination, group housing or overnight supervision, and they were not joined to any facility record. Nothing in the Dogs Away index measures or implies compliance with any state or local rule, and no page may state or suggest that a facility is permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant.",
  "register": null,
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-07"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Eight of 48 Nashville-area facility websites publish what happens when a dog is hurt or a fight breaks out, the highest share of the 31 markets in the index. Fourteen say whether anyone is in the building overnight, and five of them say nobody is.",
  "body": "Nashville is a Tier C market, the same picture as Dallas. No Tennessee agency licenses or inspects a dog boarding facility, so there is no license number to verify and no inspection history to read. The one state program that ever licensed dog businesses, the Commercial Breeder Act, excluded anyone operating \"for the exclusive purpose of engaging in the business of boarding or grooming, or both\", and expired on June 30, 2014 anyway. Tennessee has no consumer disclosure law for boarding either. What Nashville has is zoning: Metro's code conditions an \"animal boarding facility\" on setbacks, impervious floors, cage size, a six-foot fence and waste disposal. Nothing in that list touches staffing, vaccination or who is in the building at 3am. All 48 listings have Tennessee addresses, so the state picture covers every one; zoning in the towns outside Metro was not researched.\n\nThe market here is the counties of the Nashville Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 48 listings, 31 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities, 15 veterinary practices that board and two groomers. Every one has a website, and we reached and reviewed all 48. Fourteen address overnight staffing, 29.2 percent, against 13.7 percent in Dallas and 20.9 in Chicago; of the 31 markets in the index only San Diego's share is higher. Five say nobody stays. Hounds Town answers a direct question for both its locations: \"While we don’t have staff staying overnight, we have an established routine for weekends and holidays to ensure the dogs are properly taken care of.\" GoDog West Nashville puts it in its terms of service: \"The Company does not have staff present in the facility during overnight hours (typically defined as 7:30pm-6:30am but hours may change from time to time)\". Pet Resorts of America answers \"Is someone on-site 24/7?\" with daytime hours and \"24-hour security surveillance\", round-the-clock language that is not a staffing claim. Robertson County Animal Clinic: \"we do not have any staff here after hours\".\n\nNine say someone is there, in different senses. The Farm At Natchez Trace has \"Lodging Staff on the premises 24-hours a day, 365 days a year.\" Miss Kitty's Dog Resort describes a \"third shift team\" that stays overnight. Peace Love and Paws has a live-in supervisor in \"this cool apartment built right above the kennel\". Hilltop Pet Resort words its yes most carefully: \"There is not someone physically at the kennels 24/7, but we do have someone on property 24/7.\" Preppy Pet's yes attaches to one tier, the \"cageless stay-n-play with an overnight pet sitter\", not to its suites. Yardstick's three locations answer from one chain FAQ, and Hounds Town's two from another, so 14 listings answer from 11 documents. The other 34 sites are silent.\n\nThe supervision numbers are thin. None of the 48 publishes a staff-to-dog ratio; Yardstick advertises \"A higher staff-to-dog ratio\" and never gives the number. None publishes a maximum playgroup size, where Dallas has two and Chicago four. Two publish a capacity, both in passing: Creature Comforts Kennels' \"12 Suites and 40 Runs\" and House Of Paws' \"30 Tiled kennels\". The incident policy is where Nashville stands out. Eight of 48 sites, 16.7 percent, say what happens after an injury, against 5 of 328 in Dallas and 4 of 320 in Chicago. Most promise a call and a vet. Hounds Town alone names fights: \"dog fights can and do occur, but RARELY result in serious injury. The staff is trained to intervene and separate fighting dogs safely and efficiently.\" Those eight listings are five operators.\n\nTwenty-two describe a play model, 45.8 percent, the highest share in the index, against 20.7 in Dallas and 24.1 in Chicago. Twelve run open play all day, six open play with enforced rest, two a structured rotation and two no group play at all. Hilltop states the last as policy: \"No, we rotate dogs out into the play yards individually by run. This means the only interaction they get is through their gates.\" Eleven say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, and the answers do not compare: Creature Comforts includes a \"15 minute daily play time\", Pet Resorts of America \"two walks per day\", and Miss Kitty's says dogs \"go out 5 times per day\". Eleven address a dog that cannot do group play; Bark Public House sells \"One‑on‑One Play\" by the fifteen minutes.\n\nAdmission is where Nashville publishes most. Twenty-nine of 48 sites publish a vaccination list, 60.4 percent, against 47.0 in Dallas and 43.4 in Chicago; only Indianapolis, with 21 sites reviewed, is higher. All 29 require rabies, distemper-parvo and Bordetella. Canine influenza is required by 7, recommended by 4 and unmentioned by 18, so the same dog is admissible at one site and turned away at the next. Leptospirosis is required by 3: Dogville Nashville, Peace Love and Paws and Miss Kitty's. Three publish a pre-arrival window, from 72 hours at My Second Home to seven days at Pet Resorts of America. Twenty-one say they check the paperwork, 43.8 percent and the highest share in the index. One requires a negative fecal test, Concord Road Animal Hospital, against 15 in Dallas and 66 in Chicago; The Belmont Pet Resort and Daycare names the test and declines it: \"Fecal exam is suggested due to social play, but not required\".\n\nTwenty publish a spay and neuter policy. Nine require it outright and eight confine it to group play, so an intact dog can board but cannot join the pack. Two say it is not required, Hilltop and Dogville, whose intact boarders \"will automatically be in a private suite at night\", and Hillcrest Kennel and Grooming charges for it instead: \"intact males board for an additional $10 per day\". Where an age is given it is six months at 11 sites, seven at one, eight at two and twelve at two. Fifteen address the temperament evaluation: eight require one, four require a free one, two require it only for some dogs, and Peace Love and Paws says \"We don’t make you schedule a separate temperament test day.\" Twelve publish a tour policy; Peace Love and Paws offers only a virtual one.\n\nPrice is about as easy to find as in the large markets. Nineteen of the 48 listings publish an overnight rate, 39.6 percent of the websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas and 39.9 in Chicago. The median is $50 a night, level with Dallas and below Chicago's $60, with the middle half between $43 and $65, a spread of 1.51x. Published rates run from $27.95 for Preppy Pet's smallest suite to $115 at Miss Kitty's. Eighteen publish a daycare rate, median $32, against $33 in Dallas and $41 in Chicago.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Fifteen of the 48 listings sit in shared-copy clusters. Yardstick's three locations share one site, so ten fields were counted three times from one document. Hounds Town's two share chain pages and Camp Bow Wow's two a franchise block. Five veterinary clinics run one template website with no boarding policy on it, and three VCA hospitals resolve to one chain site with nothing to curate. In a market of 48, counting Yardstick three times moves the percentages.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment. Tennessee has taken no position on whether a boarding facility should be staffed at night, and experienced operators disagree in good faith about it. Metro's zoning conditions are rules about floors, fences and setbacks, and nothing on this page measures or implies compliance with them. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 48
}
