{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "orlando-fl",
  "name": "Orlando",
  "state": "Florida",
  "st": "FL",
  "lat": 28.5384,
  "lng": -81.3789,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/orlando-fl/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/orlando-fl/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/orlando-fl/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/orlando-fl.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-08",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 56,
   "boarding": 53,
   "daycare": 29,
   "catBoarding": 8,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 23,
   "vets": 28,
   "open24": 2,
   "pricedCount": 18,
   "boardingRateCount": 17
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 47,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 17 of 56 indexed Orlando facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 47,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 17 of 56 indexed Orlando facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 42,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 17 of 56 indexed Orlando facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 52,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 17 of 56 indexed Orlando facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.24,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 17,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 17 Orlando facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 36,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 10,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 10 of 56 indexed Orlando facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 30.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 55,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 55 Orlando facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 56,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 53,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 29,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 23,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 28,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 2,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 56,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 56 Orlando facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 41.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "22 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 31 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 7.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 49 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 11.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 47 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 37.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 33 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 28.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 28.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 11.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 47 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 52 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 53 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 3.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 51 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 28.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 28.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 18.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 43 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 30.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 39.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 51,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 51 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 31 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 35.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 34 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 53 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 34,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 35 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 20.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 42 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 15.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 46,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 46 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement, and 7 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 26.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 7.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 49 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 15.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "8 of 52 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 44 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 32.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 32.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 1.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 52 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 24.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 56,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 53 Orlando facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 40 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 22,
   "of": 22,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "11 of 22 dedicated facilities in Orlando, FL whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 45.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 22,
   "of": 22,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 22 dedicated facilities in Orlando, FL whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 13.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 22,
   "of": 22,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 22 dedicated facilities in Orlando, FL whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:orlando-fl",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 31.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 22,
   "of": 22,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 22 dedicated facilities in Orlando, FL whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Florida does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. Florida is not a second Colorado. FDACS's 'Pet Law', section 828.29, governs dogs and cats transported into the state or offered for sale — health certificates, vaccinations, a consumer guarantee and pet-dealer record-keeping — and says nothing about boarding or daycare; the FDACS Division of Animal Industry lists animal disease, movement, livestock identification and equine programs and no kennel or boarding program. No state boarding register was found. What exists is local: Orange County Code Chapter 5, Article II requires every 'commercial kennel or pet dealer' — any premises used for a business requiring an occupational license wherein any person engages in boarding, breeding, buying, letting for hire or training dogs or cats for a fee — to register annually with the Orange County Animal Services Division, subjects the premises to periodic inspection by an animal services officer during reasonable business hours, and sets a yearly registration fee of $26 in the FY2025-26 County Fee Directory. That is a county registration, not a state regime, and it was not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — Florida has no state license, no state inspection and no consumer disclosure law for boarding kennels. The Orange County registration is a $26 county instrument with periodic inspection; no list of registrants was found and none was joined to any facility record. Nothing in the Dogs Away index measures or implies compliance with any state or county rule, and no page may state or suggest that a facility is registered, unregistered, licensed, unlicensed, compliant or non-compliant.",
  "register": null,
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-08"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Six of the 53 Orlando-area facility websites we read say whether anyone is in the building overnight, and the only two that say no are one Hounds Town sentence. The published median, $47 a night, is the sixth-lowest of the 31 metros in the index.",
  "body": "Orlando is a Tier C market. Florida does not license or inspect dog boarding or daycare facilities and has no consumer disclosure law for boarding. What exists is local. Orange County Code Chapter 5 requires every commercial kennel in the county to register each year with Orange County Animal Services, sets the fee at $26 for the 2025-26 fiscal year, and provides for periodic inspection by an animal services officer. There is no public list of registrants, and whether the rule reaches inside Orlando city limits was not verified. The ordinance also stops at the county line: sixteen of the listings here have addresses in Seminole, Osceola or Lake County towns, Sanford, Longwood, Kissimmee and Clermont among them, and those counties' rules were not researched. A $26 county registration is not a license, and nothing on these pages says or implies who holds one.\n\nThe market here is the counties of the Orlando Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 56 listings, 23 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and 28 veterinary practices that board, plus four groomers and a trainer. Fifty-five have a website, and we reached and reviewed 53. Six of the 53 answer the overnight question, 11.3 percent against 13.7 in Dallas, 13.6 in Tampa and 21.9 in Miami. Four say yes. Dog Day Afternoon is the plainest: \"Is someone at the facility overnight? Yes! Our facility is staffed overnight.\" Universal Dog Care says \"Dogs are supervised on-site overnight for safety and comfort.\" Preppy Pet's is the softest, an \"overnight pet sitter\" for its cageless option only. The fourth yes is a sentence written to say no: Best Friends Pet Hotel's chain FAQ states \"We do not have staff members on site overnight, except at our Walt Disney World location\", and the Orlando listing is the Walt Disney World location. The two noes are one sentence on Hounds Town's chain FAQ, counted once for Sanford and once for Orlando Universal: \"While we don’t have staff staying overnight, we have an established routine for weekends and holidays to ensure the dogs are properly taken care of.\" The other 47 are silent.\n\nOne facility gives a staff-to-dog ratio. Dog Day Afternoon's FAQ says \"Group Play: Maximum of 14 dogs per staff member, with an average of approximately 11:1\". It is the only number in 53 websites, and Dallas (328 sites), Tampa (147) and Miami (146) produced none between them. Four publish what happens after an injury or illness, 7.5 percent, the fifth-highest share of the 31 metros in the index. Must Love Dogs is the most concrete: \"Any minor cuts or scrapes will be treated in house, reported, and you will receive an incident report at the end of their stay.\" Dog Day Afternoon, Hounds Town Sanford and Lake Emma Animal Hospital describe calling the owner, a vet or both. Nobody publishes a maximum playgroup size or a capacity. The near-misses are not counts of dogs: Barknona's \"Up to 55 lbs\" is a suite weight limit, and PetSuites' \"up to 8 hours of fun\" is a duration.\n\nFifteen describe a play model, and nine of them run open play all day. Five run a structured rotation, and one, Best Friends, runs group play with rest in a suite after each session. Dog Day Afternoon argues the rotation case in public: \"Do you offer all-day group play? The short answer is no, we don't have all-day play at Dog Day Afternoon. More play isn't always better!\" Ten say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, in answers that do not compare. Barknona offers \"Two Playgroup Sessions\" and Tuscawilla Animal Hospital says boarders are \"walked outside up to four times daily\"; Dogtopia promises \"8-10 hours a day of open play\" and Universal \"Playgroups from 8 AM to 7 PM\". Sixteen describe an option for a dog that cannot do group play. Pet Paradise's four locations and Best Friends charge for it.\n\nTwenty-two of the 53 publish a vaccine list, 41.5 percent, against 47.0 in Dallas and 42.2 in Tampa. All 22 require rabies, distemper-parvo and Bordetella. Canine influenza splits them. Eight require it, Miss Emily's Bed & Biscuit recommends it, eight do not mention it, and five say outright that they do not require it: Dog Day Afternoon, and Pet Paradise across four locations, \"Currently, Pet Paradise is not requiring dogs to be vaccinated with the canine influenza vaccine.\" Barknona splits the difference: \"Canine Influenza is required for daycare dogs ONLY.\" Leptospirosis is required by four, recommended by one, declined by one and unmentioned by 16. Four give a pre-arrival window, and they disagree by a factor of seven. Best Friends and Dogtopia say 48 hours, VIPet Resort says \"The Bordetella has a 10 day wait period from whenever it is given\", and Miss Emily's says 14 days. Fifteen say they will check the records, six of them Pet Paradise and PetSuites listings. Six require a fecal test, and four of the six are veterinary hospitals.\n\nTwenty publish a spay-and-neuter policy. Six require it outright, at ages from six months to twelve; Hounds Town gives both ends, \"spayed by 6 months old or neutered by 12 months old\". All Creatures Pet Grooming requires it of males only: \"All males must be fixed!\" Five confine the requirement to group play. Pet Paradise's four listings take intact dogs over six months and send them to paid one-on-one play. Four say intact dogs are welcome. Must Love Dogs answers \"Yes! We welcome any dogs who love dogs!\", and Universal Dog Care accepts dogs in heat. Fifteen address a temperament evaluation: eight require one (three of them free), three require it only for group play, and Pet Paradise's four listings are the only ones that say they do not: \"Pet Paradise does not require a temperament test or interview prior to boarding.\" Fourteen publish a tour policy. Thirteen will show you around, eight of them without an appointment. Dog Day Afternoon is the exception: \"we do not offer tours through the dog-care areas of our facility.\"\n\nSeventeen of the 56 listings publish an overnight rate, 30.9 percent of the 55 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas and 40.0 in Tampa. The median is $47 a night, the sixth-lowest of the 31 metros in the index. Tampa's is $45, Dallas's $50, Miami's and Chicago's $60. The middle half of Orlando's published rates sits between $42 and $52, a spread of 1.24x against Tampa's 1.57x. Ten publish a daycare rate, median $36. The floor is All Creatures Pet Grooming, \"$25 per night, per dog\" for a small dog. The highest first-dog rate is Woof! Orlando's \"$69/night\".\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Eight of the 35 sites that publish anything belong to three chains answering from shared pages. Pet Paradise's four location pages share one template and one chain FAQ, the two PetSuites sites differ only in address and rates, and Hounds Town's two locations share a chain FAQ, which is why both overnight noes are one sentence. They account for 106 of the 296 published answers in this market. At the other end, 18 of the 53 reached sites publish nothing on any of the 27 fields, and 17 of the 18 are veterinary clinics.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and in Florida it cannot be a compliance check: there is no state standard, and the one county register is not public. Operators disagree in good faith about all-day play and about whether a facility needs a person in it at night, and Florida has taken no position on either. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 56
}
