{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "phoenix-az",
  "name": "Phoenix",
  "state": "Arizona",
  "st": "AZ",
  "lat": 33.4484,
  "lng": -112.074,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/phoenix-az/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/phoenix-az/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/phoenix-az/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/phoenix-az.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-10-20",
  "censusAt": "2026-10-20",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 193,
   "boarding": 163,
   "daycare": 123,
   "catBoarding": 10,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 130,
   "vets": 28,
   "open24": 22,
   "pricedCount": 62,
   "boardingRateCount": 52
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 55,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 52 of 193 indexed Phoenix facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-20. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 55,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 52 of 193 indexed Phoenix facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-20. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 49,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 52 of 193 indexed Phoenix facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-20. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 70,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 52 of 193 indexed Phoenix facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-10-20. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.43,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 52 Phoenix facilities, 2026-10-20. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 40,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 47,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 47 of 193 indexed Phoenix facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-10-20.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 29.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 174,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "52 of 174 Phoenix facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-10-20. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 193,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 163,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 123,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 130,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 28,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 22,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 193,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 193 Phoenix facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-10-20. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "54 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 108 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 3.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 156 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 0.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 161 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 21.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "35 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 127 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 29.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 161,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "47 of 161 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 114 sites carried no such statement, and 3 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 27.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "45 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 17.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 133 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 160 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 0.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 161 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 8.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 148 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 17.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 133 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 24.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 161,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "39 of 161 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 122 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 6.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 152 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 20.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "33 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 129 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 36.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 158,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "58 of 158 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 100 sites carried no such statement, and 4 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 39.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 155,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "61 of 155 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 94 sites carried no such statement, and 8 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 0.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 161 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 27.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "45 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 13.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 160,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 160 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 139 sites carried no such statement, and 4 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 18.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 137,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25 of 137 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 112 sites carried no such statement, and 25 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 16,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "26 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 136 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 2.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 158 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 7.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 161,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 161 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 149 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 22.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "36 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 126 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 16.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "27 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 135 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 162 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 162,
   "of": 193,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 162 Phoenix facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-10-20. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 149 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-10-20"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 25.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 94,
   "of": 94,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "24 of 94 dedicated facilities in Phoenix, AZ whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 13.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 94,
   "of": 94,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 94 dedicated facilities in Phoenix, AZ whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 5.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 94,
   "of": 94,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 94 dedicated facilities in Phoenix, AZ whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:phoenix-az",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 17,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 94,
   "of": 94,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 94 dedicated facilities in Phoenix, AZ whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Arizona does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. No state agency issues a boarding license and there is no state inspection record. The one statute that mentions kennels, A.R.S. § 11-1009, is a dog-licensing device delegated to counties: a person who keeps five or more dogs in an enclosed, controlled area must hold a kennel permit from the county board of supervisors unless every dog is individually licensed, at an annual fee of $75 or the county's actual cost of recovery. The statute makes inspection a permit condition only for kennels of twenty or more dogs; smaller kennels may be inspected only after a written complaint. Maricopa County Animal Care & Control administers the permit for Phoenix: its current application quotes a $350 fee, an inspection appointment with an animal control officer, Board of Supervisors approval and a one-year term, and states in bold that 'the kennel permit does not authorize the operation of any type of business and is solely used for the purpose of licensing multiple dogs.' A boarding business in unincorporated Maricopa County separately needs zoning approval, because the county zoning ordinance defines a kennel to include commercial boarding. Phoenix City Code § 8-12.01 defers to the county on kennel permits. These are county permits, not a state regime, and were not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — Arizona has no state license, no state inspection, and no consumer disclosure law for boarding kennels. The Maricopa County kennel permit is a multi-dog licensing instrument that the county itself says does not authorise a business; a facility may lawfully hold individual dog licenses instead of a kennel permit, and a facility with a permit has passed a one-time premises inspection, not an ongoing welfare inspection. None of this was joined to any facility record. Nothing in the Dogs Away index measures or implies compliance with any state or county rule, and no page may state or suggest that a facility is permitted, unpermitted, compliant or non-compliant.",
  "register": null,
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-07"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Twenty Phoenix-area listings say a person is in the building overnight and nine say nobody is, but six of the twenty are one company's template. The other 133 of the 162 websites we reviewed say nothing either way.",
  "body": "Phoenix is a Tier C market. Arizona does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare at the state level, so there is no license number to check and no inspection history to read. Under A.R.S. § 11-1009, a county issues a kennel permit to anyone keeping five or more dogs who has not licensed each one. Maricopa County's application quotes a $350 fee and a premises inspection, then states in bold that \"the kennel permit does not authorize the operation of any type of business and is solely used for the purpose of licensing multiple dogs.\" No public list of permit holders was found, and no permit is joined to any facility record here. Every listing has a Maricopa County address; none is in Pinal County, the metro's other county. Whatever a Phoenix facility publishes about how it runs, it publishes by choice.\n\nThe market here is the counties of the Phoenix Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 193 listings, 163 offering boarding and 123 daycare, 130 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and 28 veterinary practices. Of the 174 with a website, we reached and reviewed 162. Every disclosure share below uses 162 as its denominator (161 for the evaluation field).\n\nTwenty-nine of the 162 address overnight staffing, 17.9 percent against 13.7 in Dallas and 20.9 in Chicago. Twenty say a person is there. Canine Country Club & Feline Inn has \"a wonderful couple living on the grounds that tour the kennel each night\", and at the Partners campus in Cave Creek \"one of the owners lives on the property\". Nine say nobody stays. Ocotillo Animal Clinic & Pet Resort writes \"We do not have staff in the pet resort overnight\". Happy Pets Palace, on both its listings, says staff \"come in at 10PM to check on all the dogs\". FurBabies answers both ways. Its Paradise Valley listing has \"a staff member on site at all times\", and its two Scottsdale listings say staff \"is not on the premises at all times during the late night hours while the pups sleep\". Counted as operators, 13 say yes and six say no, with FurBabies in both counts. The other 133 are silent.\n\nRound-the-clock language is not the same thing as a person in the building. Twenty-two listings show 24-hour opening hours, against 24 in Dallas and 17 in Chicago. Six are Dogs 24/7 sites, which also state staffing: \"Our loving, professional staff are with the dogs 24/7 to make sure they are enjoying their stay.\" The other 16 publish no staffing statement on the pages we read. Curators also rejected eleven passages that sounded like an overnight answer and were not, nine of them PetSmart Doggie Day Camp listings promising \"On-site care & on-call vet\". Those count as silent, because that is what the page says.\n\nSupervision numbers are close to empty. Two of 162 publish a staff-to-dog ratio, both Partners Dog Training, Daycare and Resort campuses from one page: \"10:1 dog daycare staff ratio\". Dallas has none; Chicago has four. One listing publishes a playgroup cap, Wiggles and Wags Pet Resort: \"Small, well-matched playgroups (5-6 dogs per group)\". One publishes a capacity: Horizon Animal Hospital, \"78 Kennels, including 46 runs\". Four publish what happens when a dog is hurt or sick. All four start with a call to the owner, and Bark Avenue adds that \"Decisions regarding medical issues are at the discretion of our staff.\"\n\nTwenty-nine describe a play model, 17.9 percent against 20.7 in Dallas and 24.1 in Chicago. Fourteen run open play all day, eight open play with enforced rest, and seven a structured rotation. Twelve of the fourteen are Dogtopia, Camp Bow Wow or Hounds Town locations. Ten say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, in units that do not compare. The least is Adobe Veterinary Clinic's \"Dogs are taken out twice a day in an outdoor run\". The most is Happy Pets Palace's \"Up to 12 hours a day of supervised group play\". Thirty-three address an option for a dog that cannot join a group; nine say it is free and eleven charge for it.\n\nHealth screening draws more answers, though fewer than in Dallas or Chicago. Fifty-four publish a vaccination list, 33.3 percent against 47.0 in Dallas and 43.4 in Chicago. Of the 55 listings that name any vaccine, 54 require rabies, 53 distemper-parvo and 52 Bordetella. Happy Pets Palace's two listings only suggest Bordetella for puppies, and Petite Pup leaves it out and adds that \"Titer tests are recognized as an acceptable alternative to vaccinations.\" Canine influenza is required by six, recommended by four and unmentioned by 45. Leptospirosis is required by five. Six state how long before arrival a vaccine must be given, from four days to ten. Forty-five say they check the paperwork, 27.8 percent against 32.6 in Dallas and 33.1 in Chicago. One requires a fecal test, and only for puppies: The Furshire's \"Negative Stool Sample\". That is 0.6 percent, against 4.6 in Dallas and 20.6 in Chicago.\n\nThirty-five publish a spay and neuter policy, 21.6 percent against 34.5 in Dallas and 27.5 in Chicago. Sixteen limit the rule to group play, and six of those are Dogs 24/7 sites. Thirteen require it outright. Pet Paradise and The Furshire price the alternative rather than refuse it, and Always Unleashed requires it of males only. Three say it is not required, HeartStrings Pet Resort and Daycare among them: \"We do not require dogs to be spayed or neutered.\" Where an age is given, it runs from six months to Happy Pets Palace's two years. Forty-seven of 161 say a first-timer must be evaluated, 29.2 percent against 32.6 in Dallas and 33.0 in Chicago: 29 require it, 13 make it free, and five attach it to daycare, group play or a recommendation. Of 26 tour policies, two limit the format, and The Furshire gives its tour \"within our front lobby on our live security cameras\".\n\nPrice is harder to find here than in the other two markets. Fifty-two of the 193 listings publish an overnight rate, 29.9 percent of the 174 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas and 39.9 in Chicago. The median is $55 a night, between Dallas's $50 and Chicago's $60. The middle half runs from $49 to $70, a spread of 1.43x against 1.4x in Dallas and 1.5x in Chicago. Forty-seven publish a daycare rate, median $40, against $33 in Dallas and $41 in Chicago. Starting rates run from $35, at A&A Premium Pet Boarding, to $89 at seven listings: D Pet Hotels Scottsdale and the six Dogs 24/7 sites.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Fifty-eight of the 193 listings share a website with at least one other listing, across 17 sites. Dogtopia accounts for eleven, PetSmart for nine and Camp Bow Wow for six. The six Dogs 24/7 sites sit on six domains but publish one template, down to a Chandler page that reads \"At Glendale Dogs 24/7\". Take the shared copy out and the 20 overnight yeses become 13 operators. Facilities added in the 2026-10-20 sweep were curated field by field, but the recall check run on the earlier set was not repeated for them.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a compliance check. The only permit in play is a county instrument for licensing multiple dogs, and no record here says who holds one. Operators disagree in good faith about whether a person needs to be in the building at 3am, and Arizona has taken no position on it. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 193
}
