{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "raleigh-nc",
  "name": "Raleigh",
  "state": "North Carolina",
  "st": "NC",
  "lat": 35.7796,
  "lng": -78.6382,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/raleigh-nc/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/raleigh-nc/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/raleigh-nc/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/raleigh-nc.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-08",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 59,
   "boarding": 59,
   "daycare": 34,
   "catBoarding": 9,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 30,
   "vets": 28,
   "open24": 0,
   "pricedCount": 27,
   "boardingRateCount": 21
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 58,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 21 of 59 indexed Raleigh facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 58,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 21 of 59 indexed Raleigh facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 47,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 21 of 59 indexed Raleigh facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 63,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 21 of 59 indexed Raleigh facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.34,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 21 Raleigh facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 36,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 21,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 21 of 59 indexed Raleigh facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 36.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 57,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 57 Raleigh facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 59,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 59,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 34,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 30,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 28,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 59,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 59 Raleigh facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 53.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 25 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 7.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 50 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 27.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 31.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "17 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 35.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 35 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 3.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 52 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 3.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 52 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 1.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 53 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 13,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 47 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 24.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 41 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 22.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 53 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 41 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 29.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 36 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 26.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 52 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 38 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 37,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 34 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 1.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 53 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 27.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 25,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 52,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 52 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement, and 2 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 6.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 44,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 44 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 41 sites carried no such statement, and 10 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 27.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 39 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 5.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 51 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 9.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 53,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "5 of 53 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 48 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 25.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 40 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 25.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 40 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 54 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 13,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 59,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 54 Raleigh facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 47 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 48,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 25,
   "of": 25,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 25 dedicated facilities in Raleigh, NC whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 24,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 25,
   "of": 25,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 25 dedicated facilities in Raleigh, NC whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 16,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 25,
   "of": 25,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 25 dedicated facilities in Raleigh, NC whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:raleigh-nc",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 24,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 25,
   "of": 25,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 25 dedicated facilities in Raleigh, NC whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "B",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": true,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": true,
  "summary": "North Carolina licenses and inspects dog boarding kennels. The Animal Welfare Act (G.S. 19A-20 et seq.) makes it unlawful to operate a boarding kennel without a license from the Director of the Animal Welfare Section of the NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS Veterinary Division). The license fee is $75 per license period, the period is the state fiscal year (1 July to 30 June), every license expires 30 June, and renewals are due mid-June. A new facility must pass a pre-licensing inspection before opening, and the Section tells applicants to allow at least four weeks for that inspection; the Section also runs routine inspections and publishes inspection reports through a look-up portal. Minimum standards are in rules (02 NCAC 52J), readopted 1 September 2022, and the rules reach in-home boarding advertised through online pet-sitting platforms as well as commercial kennels. Operating without a current license is a Class 3 misdemeanor at $5 to $25 per day, each day a separate offence (G.S. 19A-33). Raleigh is the third market in the index, after Chicago and Charlotte, with a genuine state regime. Locally, neither Wake County nor the City of Raleigh adds a boarding-kennel permit that we could verify: Wake County Animal Control does not serve Raleigh, and the Raleigh City Code's former kennel license sections (12-3043 to 12-3045) were deleted by a 2021 ordinance.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — a state licensing regime is not a quality rating and the Dogs Away index does not measure compliance with it. 02 NCAC 52J sets a floor (rabies compliance after 15 days, written consent before dogs of different owners mix, twice-daily cleaning, records, a veterinary care plan, an isolation area); it says nothing about staffing, group size, or overnight supervision. Veterinary hospitals boarding incidental to treatment are exempt from the Act. No local kennel permit was found for Raleigh and none was joined to any facility record. No page may state or suggest that a facility is compliant, non-compliant, licensed or unlicensed on the basis of anything in this index.",
  "register": "Tier B rather than Tier A: NCDA&CS publishes a JavaScript license look-up (Regulatory Portal, 'Inspection Reports (Boarding Kennel)', license type 041) at https://apps.ncagr.gov/AgRSysPortalV2/licensesearch?owner=veve&licensetype=041, searchable by licensee name or license number. The form shows no CSV, Excel or export control, and we found no downloadable, machine-readable list of animal welfare licensees comparable to Colorado's PACFA export. Until one is obtained, no Raleigh facility carries a license record in this index, and NO facility may be rendered as unlicensed — the correct statement is 'no record retrieved from the NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services Animal Welfare Section, checked 2026-09-08'.",
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-08"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Fifteen of the 54 Raleigh-area websites we read require a negative fecal test, 27.8 percent, the highest share in the index. Two say whether anyone is in the building overnight, and both say no.",
  "body": "Raleigh is a Tier B market under the same North Carolina Animal Welfare Act that covers Charlotte. A boarding kennel needs a $75 annual license from the state Department of Agriculture, and an inspector visits before the doors open. What is particular to Raleigh is that the state license is the only one. The city's own kennel license was deleted from the code in 2021, and Wake County Animal Control does not operate inside Raleigh. The state register is a look-up, not a dataset, so no facility here carries a license record and nothing on these pages says who holds one. The rules in 02 NCAC 52J set a floor and say nothing about staffing, group size, or whether anyone is present at night. Veterinary hospitals boarding incidental to treatment sit outside the Act, which matters here because 28 of the 59 listings are veterinary practices.\n\nThe market is the counties of the Raleigh–Cary Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown Raleigh: 59 listings, 30 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities, 28 veterinary practices and one training business. Fifty-seven publish a website, and we reached and reviewed 54. Two address overnight staffing, 3.7 percent. Only Denver, at 2.1, is lower; Charlotte is at 12.9, Dallas 13.7, Chicago 20.9. Both answers are no, and both were found by hand. Pupsi Inc. puts it in a mid-page FAQ answer: \"No staff is here over night.\" GoDog Durham puts it in its terms of service: \"The Company does not have staff present in the facility during overnight hours (typically defined as 7:30pm-6:30am but hours may change from time to time)\", in the same sentence that says the building \"is not equipped with any sprinkler system(s)\". Nobody in the market says yes. The other 52 are silent.\n\nRound-the-clock language is not a person in the building. Pooch Pad NC says it is \"equipped with 24/7 monitoring systems\", which describes equipment. PetSmart's \"Overnight Stays On-site care & on-call vet\" does not say anyone is there at 3am. The Fetching Post offers an overnight attendant only on select nights, as a paid \"Slumber Pawty\". All three count as silent.\n\nThe supervision numbers are thin but not empty. Two operators publish a staff-to-dog ratio. Page Point Animal Hospital and Pet Resort says \"We maintain a ratio of 10 dogs to one Bark Ranger\", and Ruff Housing Cary says \"we assign up to 5 dogs that are similar in size and play style to each counselor for the day\", the market's only playgroup cap as well. One publishes a capacity: Armadale Farm Kennel's \"60 indoor runs and 47 indoor/outdoor runs\". Three publish what happens after an injury, and the plainest is Bone Voyage Pet Resort's: \"it is our policy to notify the parents of any and all injuries regardless of how small\". Counting the overnight question, 47 of the 54 sites publish none of these facts.\n\nThirteen describe a play model: seven open play all day, five open play with an enforced rest, and one, Grace Park Animal Hospital, a rotation with rest breaks between sessions. Two of the seven are Camp Bow Wow locations using the same sentence. Pup's Day Out is the most emphatic anywhere: \"NO NAPS. Pup's Day Out has a no nap policy.\" Dogtopia of North Raleigh takes the other view: \"Dogs are only crated during naptime between 12 pm and 2 pm\". Sixteen say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, from one daily walk on Armadale's indoor/outdoor runs to Spring Forest Animal Hospital's \"at least 12 times per day\" and Dogtopia of Harrison Ave's \"8-10 hours of open-play\". Eighteen describe an option for a dog that cannot do group play. Five sell it as an add-on; Pupsi prices it as a room tier, \"*Single (no group play) $64/day\"; Pup's Day Out says \"We will never charge you for additional one on one attention.\"\n\nAdmission is where Raleigh operators publish most. Twenty-nine of the 54 sites publish a vaccination list, 53.7 percent, against 42.4 in Charlotte, 47.0 in Dallas and 43.4 in Chicago. The split by type is sharp: 22 of the 27 dedicated facilities we reviewed publish one, and seven of the 26 veterinary practices. The state requires rabies only; all 29 require rabies, distemper-parvo and Bordetella. Canine influenza is where they part: nine require it, six recommend it, thirteen do not mention it, and Pet Paradise Cary says out loud that \"Currently, Pet Paradise is not requiring dogs to be vaccinated with the canine influenza vaccine.\" Four say how long before arrival a vaccine must have been given, and the four disagree completely: Page Point wants everything \"at least 48 hours prior to arriving at the resort\", Bone Voyage has \"a 7-day waiting period to board after receiving the Bordetella vaccine\", K9 Resorts Apex allows a dog in \"10 days after administration\", and Armadale requires \"all vaccines at least 2 weeks prior to boarding\". Nineteen say they check the paperwork.\n\nThe fecal test is the Raleigh signature. Fifteen of the 54 require a negative one, 27.8 percent, against 5.8 in Charlotte, 4.6 in Dallas and 20.6 in Chicago, the next highest. Audrey's Barkyard wants \"a clean fecal test done within the last 6 months, not annually.\"\n\nEighteen publish a spay and neuter policy. Nine require it outright, six confine it to group play, two require it of males only, and Pet Paradise Cary admits intact dogs over six months at its one-on-one rates. Audrey's Barkyard puts the males-only rule plainly: \"any male dog that is older than 1 year must be neutered to participate in group play.\" Ages given run from six months to a year. Seventeen address the temperament evaluation and none say they skip it: seven require one, five require a free one, and five require it only for some dogs or for daycare. Fifteen say whether you can look around, and Lucky Paws Boarding & Daycare declines the premise: \"The best way to see the facility is via the Live Webcam.\"\n\nTwenty-one of the 59 listings publish an overnight rate, 36.8 percent of the 57 websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas and 43.3 in Charlotte. The median is $58 a night, above Charlotte's $54 and Dallas's $50 and under Chicago's $60. The middle half runs from $47 to $63, a spread of 1.34x. Twenty-one publish a daycare rate, median $36. The published floor is Spring Forest Animal Hospital, $32 a night for a dog under 30 pounds; the highest starting rate is the $90 suite at both Paws at Play listings.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Fifteen of the 59 listings share a website with at least one other listing, across seven sites. The two Paws at Play listings answer from one policy set, with identical decisions and an identical rate, so every count that includes them is one higher than the number of policies behind it. The two Camp Bow Wow locations share their play, tour and camera copy, though their admission rules differ: Cary requires canine influenza and North Raleigh does not list it. Eight veterinary listings sit on four chain domains, and only one of them, Trinity Animal Hospital, publishes a boarding policy.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a compliance check. A North Carolina license means an inspector approved the building and can come back; whether anyone is in it at 3am is a question the license does not ask and this index cannot answer. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts a Raleigh operator has chosen to tell you before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 59
}
