{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "san-antonio-tx",
  "name": "San Antonio",
  "state": "Texas",
  "st": "TX",
  "lat": 29.4241,
  "lng": -98.4936,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/san-antonio-tx/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/san-antonio-tx/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/san-antonio-tx/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/san-antonio-tx.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-08",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 66,
   "boarding": 66,
   "daycare": 35,
   "catBoarding": 3,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 32,
   "vets": 28,
   "open24": 1,
   "pricedCount": 32,
   "boardingRateCount": 27
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 51,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 27 of 66 indexed San Antonio facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 51,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 27,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 27 of 66 indexed San Antonio facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 42,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 27,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 27 of 66 indexed San Antonio facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 58,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 27,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 27 of 66 indexed San Antonio facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.38,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 27,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 27 San Antonio facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 33,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 10,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 10 of 66 indexed San Antonio facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 40.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "27 of 66 San Antonio facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 66,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 66,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 35,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 32,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 28,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 1,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 66,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 66 San Antonio facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 48.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "31 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 33 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 9.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 58 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 6.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 60 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 32.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 43 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 33.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 63,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 63 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 42 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 31.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 44 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 14.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 55 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 1.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "1 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 63 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 64 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 9.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 58 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 32.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 43 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 28.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 63,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 63 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 45 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 20.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 51 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 25,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "16 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 48 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 42.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "27 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 37 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 32.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "21 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 43 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 3.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "2 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 62 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 34.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "22 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 42 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 20.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 63,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "13 of 63 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 50 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 18.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 54,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 54 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 44 sites carried no such statement, and 10 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 15.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 54 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 10.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 57 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 4.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 63,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 63 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 60 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 29.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "19 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 45 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 31.3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "20 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 44 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 0,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 64,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "0 of 64 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 64 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 11.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 61,
   "of": 66,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 61 San Antonio facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 54 sites carried no such statement, and 3 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 35.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 28,
   "of": 28,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "10 of 28 dedicated facilities in San Antonio, TX whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 53.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 28,
   "of": 28,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "15 of 28 dedicated facilities in San Antonio, TX whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 21.4,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 28,
   "of": 28,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 28 dedicated facilities in San Antonio, TX whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:san-antonio-tx",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 50,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 28,
   "of": 28,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "14 of 28 dedicated facilities in San Antonio, TX whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Texas does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation's Licensed Breeder Program covers commercial dog and cat BREEDERS only — the threshold is keeping five or more intact adult females — and does not reach boarding kennels, daycares, or the veterinary practices that board. There is no state inspection regime, no public inspection record, and no state license number to look up. What Texas has is a disclosure law, Health & Safety Code chapter 824. Local requirements are set city by city: the City of San Antonio requires a commercial boarding kennel license from Animal Care Services under Chapter 5 of the city code — $150 a year plus a $25 inspection fee, issued for one year after inspection and approval of the facility — and that is a city permit, not a state regime, and was not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — Chapter 824 requires disclosure TO THE CUSTOMER AT BOOKING. It does not require a facility to publish anything on its website. A facility that says nothing publicly may be fully compliant. The San Antonio commercial boarding kennel license is a city permit with a once-a-year inspection; no list of licensees was found and none was joined to any facility record. Nothing in the Dogs Away index measures or implies compliance with Chapter 824 or with Chapter 5 of the San Antonio city code, and no page may state or suggest that a facility is licensed, unlicensed, compliant or non-compliant.",
  "register": null,
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-08"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Six San Antonio-area listings say a person is on site overnight and three say nobody is. The other 55 of the 64 websites we reviewed say nothing, and two operators with several locations each supply five of the nine answers.",
  "body": "San Antonio is a Tier C market. No Texas agency licenses or inspects dog boarding facilities, so there is no state license number to verify and no inspection history to read. What Texas has instead is Chapter 824 of the Health and Safety Code, in force since September 1, 2023. Any kennel boarding more than three animals — veterinary clinics included — must tell an owner in writing, and take a signed consent, if the dog will be left without an employee present during set hours, and must say whether the building lacks a working sprinkler system. That disclosure happens on a form at the counter, not on a website. The City of San Antonio adds a permit: a commercial boarding kennel license from Animal Care Services, $150 a year plus a $25 inspection fee, issued after the facility is inspected. The city's definition of a kennel excludes veterinary hospitals. No public list of licensees was found, and none was joined to any facility record.\n\nThe market here is the counties of the San Antonio Census metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown: 66 listings, 32 of them dedicated boarding and daycare facilities and 28 veterinary practices that board. Fifty-eight carry a San Antonio address. The other eight sit in suburbs from Schertz to Helotes, where the city permit does not apply and local rules, like unincorporated Bexar County's, were not checked. Every listing has a website, and we reached and reviewed 64. Every disclosure share below uses those 64.\n\nNine of the 64 address overnight staffing, 14.1 percent against 13.7 in Dallas, 13.6 in Austin and 15.8 in Houston. Six say a person is on site. The Palms Pet Resort & Spa gives the only shift times in the market: \"We do have an overnight staff member here every night from 10pm-7am.\" Three say nobody stays. Barkaritaville Pet Resort is the plainest: \"We do not have staff members overnight.\" Hounds Town's two locations share one chain FAQ sentence: \"While we don’t have staff staying overnight, we have an established routine for weekends and holidays\". Three of the six yeses are Lucy's Doggy Daycare and Spa locations answering from one policies page, so by operator the count is four yes and two no. The other 55 sites are silent, which under Chapter 824 is entirely lawful.\n\nOne site in 64 publishes a staff-to-dog ratio. Pup Pup & Away: \"We don’t want more than 12 dogs per person.\" Dallas and Houston have none. None of the 64 publishes a maximum playgroup size. Two publish a capacity: The Pets Inn has \"100 spacious upscale runs\", and The Palms sets \"a limit of 43 dogs per day\". Seven listings say what happens after an injury, 10.9 percent against 1.5 in Dallas, 1.2 in Austin and 2.5 in Houston, though the seven are four operators. All seven promise a call or a vet; none says what happens after a fight.\n\nTwenty-one describe a play model: ten run open play all day, nine open play with enforced rest, and two a structured rotation. Camp Bow Wow's four camps split down the middle. Live Oak and Airport describe open play, while Stone Oak and Northwest describe rest, Northwest in so many words: \"scheduled rest periods\". Thirteen say how long a boarded dog spends out of its room, from Southeast Animal Hospital's \"Twice a day, we take each boarding dog out for a stroll\" to Dogtopia's \"8-10 hours of open-play\". Sixteen describe an option for a dog that does not join the group. Six simply say so, five charge for it (three Camp Bow Wow camps at $15 a session), three sell it from a menu (Good Dog's \"Cuddle Time - $9\"), and Home Away From Home Kennels says the opposite: \"This is NEVER extra! FREE!\"\n\nAdmission is where San Antonio operators say the most. Thirty-one sites publish a vaccination list that names rabies, 48.4 percent against Dallas's 47.0. A thirty-second, All Dogs Unleashed, names only Bordetella and parvo. All 32 require Bordetella. Canine influenza is where they part: required by five, recommended by seven, unmentioned by 19, and ruled out by one, Pet Paradise Stone Oak, which says it \"is not requiring dogs to be vaccinated with the canine influenza vaccine\". Leptospirosis is required by one, Schertz Animal Hospital, and recommended by two. Six publish a waiting period after a shot, all six say five days, three of them Lucy's. Twenty say they will check the paperwork rather than take an owner's word. Home Away From Home says what does not count: \"Puppy or kitten booklets are not acceptable.\" Four require a negative fecal test, 6.3 percent against 4.6 in Dallas.\n\nTwenty-one publish a spay and neuter policy. Nine require it outright, at six months (Good Dog, Kara's K9 Retreat, and Hounds Town, which sets six for females and twelve for males) or seven (Dog Days, Dogtopia's three locations, Camp Bow Wow Northwest). Nine confine it to group play: Lucy's, Pawderosa Ranch and Tails Are Wagging at eight months, PetSuites with no age given, and The Palms at six, which says why boarding is different: \"Boarding dogs and cats do not come in contact with other boarders.\" Pet Paradise accepts intact dogs at one-on-one rates, Puppy Power Dog Resort requires it only of males over 50 pounds, and Four Paws Inn says \"Not spayed or neutered? No problem!\" Twenty-one address a temperament evaluation. Fourteen require one of every dog, six of them free, and seven require it only for group play, for daycare, or for some dogs. The Pets Inn names its some dogs, a list of five breeds that \"require a previous interview and personality assessment by our staff in order to receive our services.\" Ten publish a tour policy. Three say no appointment is needed, two offer only a virtual tour, and none says no.\n\nThe sprinkler question Chapter 824 puts on the counter form surfaces on three sites. The Pets Inn publishes the notice in advance: \"the kennel is not equipped with a fire protection sprinkler system\". Pawderosa Ranch's agreement says the same thing, across its two listings: \"Owner is informed that there is no fire protection sprinkler system in the facility.\" The Palms describes a monitored fire alarm instead. Two operators publish in advance the answer the law requires at booking.\n\nTwenty-seven of the 66 listings publish an overnight rate, 40.9 percent of the websites our pricing crawler reached, against 37.0 in Dallas, 39.1 in Houston and 46.3 in Austin. The median is $51 a night, with the middle half of the market between $42 and $58, a spread of 1.38x. Dallas sits at $50, Houston $48, Austin $55. The lowest first-dog rate published is $34.05 for a small kennel at Culebra Creek Veterinary Hospital & Resort; the highest is Bluebonnet Bunk'n Biscuit's $72 standard suite. Ten listings publish a daycare rate, median $33.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Twenty-one of the 66 listings share a website with at least one other listing, across seven sites: VCA five, Camp Bow Wow four, Lucy's three, Dogtopia three, and Hounds Town, My Pet's Vet and Pawderosa Ranch two each. Lucy's single policies page supplied seventeen decisions three times over, and the five VCA hospitals publish almost nothing on the reviewed fields. In a market of 64 sites, a count of listings is not a count of decisions.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment. A city permit shows an inspector approved the building; it does not tell you whether anyone is in it at 3am. An empty field here means only that nothing was published on a page we could read. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 66
}
