{
 "license": "CC BY 4.0",
 "licenseUrl": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
 "attribution": "Source: Dogs Away (dogsaway.co)",
 "generatedAt": "2026-11-07T06:25:32.985Z",
 "city": {
  "slug": "seattle-wa",
  "name": "Seattle",
  "state": "Washington",
  "st": "WA",
  "lat": 47.6062,
  "lng": -122.3321,
  "url": "https://dogsaway.co/seattle-wa/",
  "boardingUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-boarding/seattle-wa/",
  "daycareUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/dog-daycare/seattle-wa/",
  "markdownUrl": "https://dogsaway.co/seattle-wa.md",
  "pulledAt": "2026-07-07",
  "censusAt": "2026-09-08",
  "indexable": true,
  "counts": {
   "facilities": 244,
   "boarding": 188,
   "daycare": 171,
   "catBoarding": 6,
   "dedicatedFacilities": 230,
   "vets": 9,
   "open24": 14,
   "pricedCount": 115,
   "boardingRateCount": 96
  },
  "boardingMedian": {
   "value": 65,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "basis": "Median across 96 of 244 indexed Seattle facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  }
 },
 "metrics": [
  {
   "id": "boarding_median_price:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "boarding_median_price",
   "label": "Median published overnight boarding rate",
   "value": 65,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 96,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median across 96 of 244 indexed Seattle facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p25:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p25",
   "label": "25th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 53,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 96,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "25th percentile across 96 of 244 indexed Seattle facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_p75:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "boarding_price_p75",
   "label": "75th percentile boarding rate",
   "value": 77,
   "unit": "USD/night",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 96,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "75th percentile across 96 of 244 indexed Seattle facilities with an overnight rate found on their own website. Crawl protocol: homepage plus linked pages matching rate keywords, 2026-07-07. First-dog standard rate; holiday and add-on pricing excluded.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_price_spread:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "boarding_price_spread",
   "label": "Boarding price spread (p75 ÷ p25)",
   "value": 1.45,
   "unit": "×",
   "format": "ratio",
   "n": 96,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Ratio of the 75th to the 25th percentile published overnight rate across 96 Seattle facilities, 2026-07-07. Both figures share the same population and period.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_median_price:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "daycare_median_price",
   "label": "Median published daycare rate",
   "value": 49.99,
   "unit": "USD/day",
   "format": "currency",
   "n": 61,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "Median full-day daycare rate across 61 of 244 indexed Seattle facilities publishing one on their own website, 2026-07-07.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "rate_findable_share:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "rate_findable_share",
   "label": "Share of facilities with a rate findable on their website",
   "value": 44.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 217,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "96 of 217 Seattle facility websites we crawled had an overnight rate on the homepage or a linked rate page, 2026-07-07. A facility counted as not-found may still publish a rate outside that crawl scope, on a page requiring login, or quote it by phone — this measures findability, not disclosure.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "facility_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "facility_count",
   "label": "Indexed facilities",
   "value": 244,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "boarding_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "boarding_count",
   "label": "Offering boarding",
   "value": 188,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "daycare_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "daycare_count",
   "label": "Offering daycare",
   "value": 171,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "dedicated_facility_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "dedicated_facility_count",
   "label": "Dedicated boarding/daycare facilities",
   "value": 230,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "vet_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "vet_count",
   "label": "Veterinary practices that board",
   "value": 9,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "open24_count:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "open24_count",
   "label": "Advertising 24-hour operation",
   "value": 14,
   "unit": "facilities",
   "format": "count",
   "n": 244,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "dogsaway-index",
   "basis": "Count across the 244 Seattle facilities in the Dogs Away index, 2026-07-07. Index scope: the counties of the Census metro area, plus places within 30 miles of downtown, categories per /about/#score.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vaccines:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_vaccines",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vaccination requirements",
   "value": 49.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "97 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 100 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_bordetellaWindow",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Bordetella timing window",
   "value": 4.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 188 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_fecalTest:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_fecalTest",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Fecal / parasite test required",
   "value": 19.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "39 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 158 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_spayNeuter:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_spayNeuter",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Spay/neuter policy",
   "value": 36,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "71 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 126 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_trialRequired:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_trialRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Trial / temperament evaluation required",
   "value": 40.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "80 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_proofRequired:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_proofRequired",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Records verified vs. taken on word",
   "value": 37.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "74 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 123 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffOvernight:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffOvernight",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff on site overnight",
   "value": 22.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "45 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 152 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffRatio:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffRatio",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Staff-to-dog ratio",
   "value": 3,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "6 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 191 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_groupSizeCap:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_groupSizeCap",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Maximum playgroup size",
   "value": 1.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "3 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 194 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_staffCertification:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_staffCertification",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Pet first aid / CPR certification",
   "value": 14.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "28 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 169 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_playModel:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_playModel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Play model (all-day / rotation / no group play)",
   "value": 15.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "31 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 166 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_separationBasis:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_separationBasis",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Groups separated by size / temperament",
   "value": 23.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "47 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 150 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_hoursOutOfKennel",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Hours per day out of the kennel",
   "value": 14.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "29 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 168 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_soloOption:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_soloOption",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Option for dogs who can’t do group play",
   "value": 20.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "41 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 156 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_kennelType:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_kennelType",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Housing type (wire crate / suite / free-roam)",
   "value": 31,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "61 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 136 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_outdoorAccess:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_outdoorAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Outdoor access (yard / run / indoor only)",
   "value": 40.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "80 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 117 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_capacity:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_capacity",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Capacity",
   "value": 2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "4 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 193 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_climateMonitored:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_climateMonitored",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Climate control / alarm monitoring",
   "value": 16.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "32 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 165 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_liveCamera:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_liveCamera",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Client-viewable live cameras",
   "value": 9.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 196,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "18 of 196 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 178 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_photoUpdates:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_photoUpdates",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Daily photo / report-card updates",
   "value": 20.7,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 188,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "39 of 188 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 149 sites carried no such statement, and 9 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_tourPolicy:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_tourPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Facility tour policy",
   "value": 17.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "35 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 162 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_incidentPolicy:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_incidentPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Injury / fight policy and notification",
   "value": 6.1,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "12 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 185 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_vetAccess:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_vetAccess",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Vet on site / on call",
   "value": 3.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "7 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 190 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_medicationAdmin:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_medicationAdmin",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Administers medication",
   "value": 24.5,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 196,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "48 of 196 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 148 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_feedingPolicy:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_feedingPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepts owner-supplied / raw food",
   "value": 21.8,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "43 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 154 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_acceptingClients:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_acceptingClients",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Accepting new clients",
   "value": 4.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 197,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "9 of 197 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 188 sites carried no such statement. Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "disclosure_onlineBooking:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "disclosure_onlineBooking",
   "label": "Facilities publishing: Online booking available",
   "value": 19.9,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 196,
   "of": 244,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "39 of 196 Seattle facility websites we reached and reviewed publish this, 2026-07-07. Every candidate passage the extractor surfaced for this field was read by a curator; 157 sites carried no such statement, and 1 more were described by reviewers but not stated by the operator (counted as not published). Measures what operators publish on their own websites — not what they would say if asked.",
   "asOf": "2026-07-07"
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_catBoarding:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "stated_catBoarding",
   "label": "Facilities stating they board cats",
   "value": 15.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 179,
   "of": 179,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "28 of 179 dedicated facilities in Seattle, WA whose websites we reached state that they board cats, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (7%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_minimumAge:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "stated_minimumAge",
   "label": "Facilities stating a minimum age",
   "value": 19,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 179,
   "of": 179,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "34 of 179 dedicated facilities in Seattle, WA whose websites we reached state a minimum age for boarding or daycare, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 30 sampled sites that stated nothing found 3 that did (10%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_illnessPolicy:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "stated_illnessPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating an illness policy",
   "value": 15.6,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 179,
   "of": 179,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "28 of 179 dedicated facilities in Seattle, WA whose websites we reached state what happens with a sick or contagious dog, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 20 sampled sites that stated nothing found 1 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  },
  {
   "id": "stated_cancellationPolicy:city:seattle-wa",
   "metric": "stated_cancellationPolicy",
   "label": "Facilities stating a cancellation policy",
   "value": 21.2,
   "unit": "%",
   "format": "percent",
   "n": 179,
   "of": 179,
   "evidence": "calculated",
   "source": "facility-website",
   "basis": "38 of 179 dedicated facilities in Seattle, WA whose websites we reached state a cancellation rule for boarding, 2026-10-08. We read up to 20 pages per site plus linked PDFs. A recall check of 40 sampled sites that stated nothing found 2 that did (5%), so the true share may be slightly higher. Measures what operators publish, not what they do."
  }
 ],
 "licensing": {
  "status": "resolved",
  "tier": "C",
  "stateLicensesBoardingKennels": false,
  "stateInspectsBoardingKennels": false,
  "summary": "Washington does not license or inspect dog boarding and daycare facilities at the state level, and has no state disclosure or standards law for boarding. The Washington State Department of Agriculture's Animal Services licenses cover animal feed, animal health and import, livestock identification and avian health; nothing for kennels or pet businesses. House Bill 2403 (2024), which would have required every kennel operator to have a fire alarm or sprinkler system in each building housing animals and to certify it on the business-license application, had a committee hearing on 23 January 2024 and went no further. Regulation in the Seattle metro is local and comes from three bodies. Public Health – Seattle & King County licenses pet businesses across the county under King County Board of Health Code Title 8, chapter 8.03: a 'commercial kennel' (four or more dogs or cats kept for commercial purposes including board) and a 'pet daycare facility' (four or more dogs left for supervised play) each need an operating permit from the health director, applied for at least 30 days before opening; the director may inspect during business hours and must document findings on an inspection form; the 2026 permit fee is $506 for either category. The Board of Health plans a September 2026 vote on a rewrite that adds staffing and supervision standards and a combined, tiered boarding/daycare permit, for implementation in 2027. The Seattle Animal Shelter licenses individual pets under SMC 9.25.050 and issues no kennel or daycare business license that we could find; Seattle controls where pet daycares and kennels may locate through the Land Use Code. Regional Animal Services of King County (RASKC) licenses hobby kennels and catteries under KCC 11.04 at $50 a year and, for commercial kennels, defers to the Public Health permit (KCC 11.04.050(B)). These are county and city instruments, not a state regime, and were not joined to facility records.",
  "boundary": "IMPORTANT — Washington has no state license, no state inspection and no consumer disclosure law for boarding kennels, and the 2024 fire-safety bill did not pass. The Public Health – Seattle & King County pet business permit is a county health instrument aimed at zoonotic disease prevention; its current standards say nothing about staffing or overnight supervision (that is what the 2026 rewrite proposes). No permit roll was joined to any facility record. Nothing in the Dogs Away index measures or implies compliance with BOH Title 8, KCC Title 11 or SMC Title 9 or 23, and no page may state or suggest that a facility is permitted, unpermitted, licensed, unlicensed, compliant or non-compliant.",
  "register": null,
  "checkedAt": "2026-09-08"
 },
 "analysis": {
  "headline": "Forty-five of 197 Seattle-area websites say whether anyone is in the building overnight: 41 say someone is, four say no one is. Six publish a staff-to-dog ratio, from one attendant per five dogs to one per 15 to 20.",
  "body": "Seattle is a Tier C market. Washington does not license or inspect dog boarding or daycare facilities, and it has no consumer disclosure law for boarding. The one attempt, House Bill 2403 in 2024, would have required kennels to certify a working fire alarm or sprinkler system; it went no further than a committee hearing. What exists is local. Public Health – Seattle & King County requires an operating permit for a commercial kennel or pet daycare keeping four or more dogs, the health director may inspect during business hours, and the 2026 fee is $506. The standards behind that permit cover enclosures, sanitation and disease prevention, not staffing or overnight supervision. When we checked on 8 September 2026, a rewrite adding staffing standards was due for a Board of Health vote that month, for 2027. The permit is a King County instrument, many listings here sit in Everett, Tacoma, Lynnwood, Poulsbo and other places outside King County, and no permit roll was joined to any facility.\n\nThe index covers the counties of the Seattle metro area plus places within 30 miles of downtown, and holds 244 listings: 188 offer boarding, 171 offer daycare and nine are veterinary practices. Two hundred and seventeen have a website, and we reached and reviewed 197 of them. Every share below uses 197 as its base. Forty-five address overnight staffing, 22.8 percent, against 13.7 in Dallas, 20.9 in Chicago and 12.9 in Portland. Forty-one say a person is on site. Cascade Kennels says \"we have employee housing on the property so we have staff on-site 24/7\"; Rocket Dog Care promises \"a trusted team member who stays right in the room overnight\". Blue Collar Doghouse in Edmonds is the most exact: outside business hours \"only one staff member is on site with our boarding group\", a group of \"around 12-15 dogs in our 1,000 sq. ft. space.\" Four say no one is there. Camp Happy Paws: \"We do not have overnight staff, but we have surveillance cameras in all of the rooms and around the yard.\" Seattle Canine Club's SoDo location: \"rather than having a staff member sleep in the building, we rely on 24/7 security surveilance to monitor the cameras of our building.\" Doggy Haven Resort and Big Valley Pet Resort are the other two. The remaining 152 sites say nothing either way.\n\nGoogle lists 14 of these listings as open 24 hours. A business profile describes opening hours, not who is with the dogs: only two of the 14, Doggy Woods Retreat and Noble Pet Resort, are among the 41 sites that say a person is there overnight.\n\nSix sites publish a staff-to-dog ratio, against none of 328 in Dallas and four of 320 in Chicago. Two are listings for one Everett business, TAILored Pet Services and its Four-Legged Fun Zone: \"one daycare attendant for every five dogs\". The other four sit near fifteen, from Camp Canine Doggy Day Care's \"10-15 dogs to 1 staff member\" to Dogcity's \"a wrangler for every 15-20 dogs\". Three publish a playgroup size, from PawBoo's \"(3–4 pups max)\" to Unleashed Dog Daycare & Wellness Center's \"no more than 30 dogs in our big dog group\". Four publish a capacity, and twelve say what happens when a dog is hurt or falls ill. Thirty-one describe a play model: 15 open play with scheduled rest, 12 open play all day, two a structured rotation and two no group play. Twenty-nine say how long a boarded dog is out of its room, and the answers cannot be compared: at Cascade Kennels walks are an add-on, \"Potty Walks (Two per Day) $8 per Day\"; Dogtopia of Harbor Steps lists \"8-10 hours of open-play\". Forty-one address the dog that cannot join a group, and fifteen of them charge for the alternative.\n\nAdmission is where Seattle operators say most. Ninety-seven sites publish a vaccination list, 49.2 percent, and every one names rabies. Ninety-four require Bordetella; Positive Pooches is one of two that only recommend it: \"Bordetella vaccines are highly recommended, but not required\". Canine influenza is required by four, among them Great Dog Daycare & Training, whose list reads \"Required by the next regular vet visit: Canine Influenza (CIV)\". Thirteen recommend it, and 79 lists do not mention it, so the same dog can be admissible at one site and turned away at the next. Leptospirosis is required by eight, recommended by 12 and absent from 77 lists. Nine state how long before arrival a vaccine must have been given, from 48 hours at three sites to two weeks at two. Thirty-nine require a negative fecal test, 19.8 percent, third in the index after Raleigh and Chicago and against 4.6 percent in Dallas. Freshness runs from Mountain View Dog Ranch's \"with in 30 days\" to Rainier Dog Resort & Spa's \"within the past 12 months\". Seventy-four say they will check the paperwork rather than take an owner's word.\n\nSeventy-one publish a spay and neuter policy. Fifty-two require it outright, six only for group play, four for males only, and five accept intact dogs for a fee: Watson's Retreat says unaltered dogs \"add an additional $25\". Four do not require it; Noble Pet Resort says \"Intact pets are welcome\". Fifty-eight give an age. Six months is the most common answer, and the highest is Big Valley's \"we DO NOT accept unaltered dogs aged 2 years or older.\" Eighty address a temperament evaluation or trial day: 64 require one, six require one and say it is free, five require it for some dogs only, and five say it is not required. Thirty-five state a tour policy, and three do not allow tours; Just Peachy Pet Care, a home facility, says \"we must maintain the privacy of our team members who live on site.\" Eighteen address live cameras, 13 yes and five no. Seattle Canine Club gives its reason: \"For the sake of the privacy of our staff, we don’t provide live cameras as we don’t know who is looking and the specific instance.\"\n\nPrice is easier to find here than in most markets. Of the 217 websites we crawled, 96 show an overnight rate, 44.2 percent, against 37.0 in Dallas, 39.9 in Chicago and 44.3 in Portland. Among those 96 the median is $65 a night, and the middle half falls between $53 and $77, a spread of 1.45x. Dallas's median is $50, Chicago's $60 and Portland's $56. Sixty-one sites publish a daycare rate, median $49.99, the fourth-highest of 31 markets, against $42 in Portland, $41 in Chicago and $33 in Dallas.\n\nOne structural caveat belongs on every number here. Forty-eight listings share 19 websites. Eight PetSmart listings resolve to corporate store and reservation pages. Four Dogtopia locations share the chain's site, and the \"8-10 hours of open-play\" above comes from the chain's 15 Commitments to Safety, not from a Seattle page. PawsVIP, Jax Dog Drop, Pickles Playland and Camp Crockett each have three listings on one site, and TAILored Pet Services and Four-Legged Fun Zone count twice in the ratio, injury and spay-and-neuter figures. Seven more listings give a Facebook or Instagram page as their website. A share of this market's disclosure decisions were made once and counted several times.\n\nNone of this is a ranking and none of it is a judgment, and it is not a permit check. King County's permit says an inspector may come; as written it says nothing about who is in the building at night, and the index does not know which facilities hold one. Forty-one operators in the Seattle area answer that question on a website with yes, and four answer no. What the index measures is narrower: which of these facts you can find out before you pick up the phone."
 },
 "facilityCount": 244
}
